Figuring out how to save and spend on a bedroom can be a bit hard, especially when some of us are working with a limited budget and can’t afford to replace almost everything. Even if you don’t want to redecorate … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Patient
Book Author:
Jasper DeWitt
Page Count:
224
Publishing Date:
July 7th 2020
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Date Read:
November 28th, 2021
Format:
Kindle Edition
Source:
Prime Reading

Synopsis

The Silent Patient by way of Stephen King: Parker, a young, overconfident psychiatrist new to his job at a mental asylum, miscalculates catastrophically when he undertakes curing a mysterious and profoundly dangerous patient.

In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient.

We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility’s most difficult, profoundly dangerous case—a forty-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide.

Desperate and fearful, the hospital’s directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control, and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew.

Fans of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay’s The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt’s astonishing debut.

My Review

My gosh it has been a long time since I’ve written a book review! I have been reading, I just…have been really lazy and haven’t reviewed any books in a while. Not sure why, honestly – I think about how … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment

Leather products and accessories don’t come cheap, and a lot of them might even have sentimental value. Naturally, you want them to last as long as possible, which is why you need the best tips possible on how to look … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

It’s an undeniable fact that we’re all looking for ways to make more money. And unless you want to start moonlighting as a barista, your best bet is probably going online and using apps on your phone. It sounds simple, … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

Buying a home is quite possibly one of life’s biggest achievements. That being said, it’s a huge investment when you look at your financial future. Regular mortgage payments can build equity in your property over time but that being said, … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

  Over the past year and half, many of us have grown increasingly concerned about our children’s education. Of course, our little ones will always require a little help and encouragement with their education at home. But with the coronavirus … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

It is easy when you look at your standard week to feel as though you don’t have any free time. This is frustrating. You are constantly moving from one obligation such as work, chores, looking after your family, organizing schedules … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

Find A Good Niche Before you think about approaching publishers, you need to decide what you are going to write about. When writing a non-fiction book, it’s crucial that you find a good niche. There are a lot of subjects … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

Pets are more than just friends; they become part of the family. As a pet owner, you should want to spend as much time as possible with your pet. Time with your pets doesn’t last forever; that’s why you should … Continue reading

Tagged as
1 Comment

Do you love reading in your daily life? If so then there are countless roles that will be worth exploring and that could be ideal for you. Here are some of the suggestions that we do recommend you think about … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment