Tag Archives: thrillers

Book Title:
One Was Lost
Book Author:
Natalie D. Richards
Publishing Date:
October 4th, 2016
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
September 13th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - thank you!

Synopsis

Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Are they labels or a warning? The answer could cost Sera everything.

Murder, justice, and revenge were so not a part of the plan when Sera set out on her senior camping trip. After all, hiking through the woods is supposed to be safe and uneventful.

Then one morning the group wakes up groggy, confused, and with words scrawled on their wrists: Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Their supplies? Destroyed. Half their group? Gone. Their chaperone? Unconscious. Worst of all, they find four dolls acting out a murder—dolls dressed just like them.

Suddenly it's clear; they're being hunted. And with the only positive word on her wrist, Sera falls under suspicion…

My Review

This is my first Natalie D. Richards book, although I own Kindle versions of her other three novels (and am excited to read them after loving this book so much).  I also want to point out that I haven’t read … Continue reading

4.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Don't You Trust Me?
Book Author:
Patrice Kindl
Publishing Date:
August 30th, 2016
Publisher:
Atheneum
Date Read:
August 29th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher

Synopsis

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue-eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t.

But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport, just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me on that.

My Review

Don’t You Trust Me? is one of those books that completely slipped under my radar – I hadn’t heard anything about it until a copy showed up on my doorstep (a huge thank you to the amazing folks at Simon … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Title:
Secrets, Lies, and Scandals
Book Author:
Amanda K. Morgan
Publishing Date:
July 5th, 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Date Read:
June 30th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher

Synopsis

Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.

Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.

Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.

Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.

Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.

Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.

With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.

My Review

I feel like I’m perpetually on the hunt for an awesome YA thriller.  I’m always checking out new books and trying to find a great one that I can hold up and say “You have to read this book!  NOW!”  … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as ,
3 Comments

The Wolf Road Author: Beth Lewis Publication Date: July 5th, 2016 Publisher: Crown Synopsis: ELKA BARELY REMEMBERS a time before she knew Trapper. She was just seven years old, wandering lost and hungry in the wilderness, when the solitary hunter … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Girl I Used to Be
Book Author:
April Henry
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
Henry Holt and CO. (BYR)
Date Read:
May 4th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis

When Olivia's mother was killed, everyone suspected her father of murder. But his whereabouts remained a mystery. Fast forward fourteen years. New evidence now proves Olivia's father was actually murdered on the same fateful day her mother died. That means there's a killer still at large. It's up to Olivia to uncover who that may be. But can she do that before the killer tracks her down first?

My Review

I read a lot of thrillers, but I always find it difficult to find a good one.  A lot of them are just really hard to get into – whether it be from lack of details and a plot that … Continue reading

2 stars
6 Comments
Book Title:
The May Queen Murders
Book Author:
Sarah Jude
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
April 30th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher

Synopsis

Stay on the roads. Don’t enter the woods. Never go out at night.

Those are the rules in Rowan’s Glen, a remote farming community in the Missouri Ozarks where Ivy Templeton’s family has lived for centuries. It’s an old-fashioned way of life, full of superstition and traditions, and sixteen-year-old Ivy loves it. The other kids at school may think the Glen kids are weird, but Ivy doesn’t care—she has her cousin Heather as her best friend. The two girls share everything with each other—or so Ivy thinks. When Heather goes missing after a May Day celebration, Ivy discovers that both her best friend and her beloved hometown are as full of secrets as the woods that surround them.

My Review

The May Queen Murders is an interesting YA horror/thriller that isn’t for the faint of heart – there is a lot in this book that reminds me of a really gory horror film (and since I really like that kind … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Crossing the Line
Book Author:
Meghan Rogers
Book Series:
The Raven Files, #1
Publishing Date:
April 12th, 2016
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Date Read:
April 15th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher

Synopsis

If Jason Bourne were a teenaged girl…

Jocelyn Steely was kidnapped as a child and raised in North Korea as a spy. When her agency sends her to the U.S. to infiltrate the very group her parents once worked for, Jocelyn jumps at the chance to turn double agent and finish off her kidnappers once and for all. She convinces the head of the American spy agency to trust her, but it’s not quite as simple as that: Jocelyn has to fight the withdrawal symptoms from the drug that the North Koreans used to keep her in line, and her new fellow spies refuse to trust their former adversary. Worst of all, there might be some new information to uncover about her parents - if she even wants to find out.

This action-packed spy thriller is part Gallagher Girls, part Alex Rider, and part Bourne Identity.

My Review

I’ve found myself really drawn into YA spy thrillers ever since I read They Call Me Alexandra Gastone by T.A. Maclagan a while back.  Before reading that, I hadn’t really been interested in spy thrillers/action novels, but that really changed … Continue reading

4.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Title:
A Drop of Night
Book Author:
Stefan Bachmann
Page Count:
439
Publishing Date:
March 15th, 2016
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Date Read:
March 18th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace

You cannot guess its secrets.

My Review

This book was a tad bit…difficult for me to review.  On one hand, I enjoyed it – the mystery, the creepy aspects of it, the way everything seemed to wrap up neatly.  On the other hand, I spent the majority … Continue reading

3.5 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Burn Baby Burn
Book Author:
Meg Medina
Publishing Date:
March 8th, 2016
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Date Read:
March 7th, 2016

Synopsis

While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl faces danger within her own home in Meg Medina's riveting coming-of-age novel.

Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial killer named Son of Sam who shoots young women on the streets. Nora’s family life isn’t going so well either: her bullying brother, Hector, is growing more threatening by the day, her mother is helpless and falling behind on the rent, and her father calls only on holidays. All Nora wants is to turn eighteen and be on her own. And while there is a cute new guy who started working with her at the deli, is dating even worth the risk when the killer likes picking off couples who stay out too late? Award-winning author Meg Medina transports us to a time when New York seemed balanced on a knife-edge, with tempers and temperatures running high, to share the story of a young woman who discovers that the greatest dangers are often closer than we like to admit — and the hardest to accept.

My Review

Burn Baby Burn is an incredibly powerful novel about a young girl growing up in New York City in 1977.  It deals with A LOT of sensitive issues, including domestic violence, drugs, and shootings that occur throughout the city at … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Complicit
Book Author:
Stephanie Kuehn
Publishing Date:
June 24th, 2014
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Date Read:
February 29th, 2016

Synopsis

A YALSA 2015 Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick

Two years ago, fifteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile detention for burning down their neighbor's fancy horse barn. The whole town did. Because Crazy Cate Henry used to be a nice girl. Until she did a lot of bad things. Like drinking. And stealing. And lying. Like playing weird mind games in the woods with other children. Like making sure she always got her way. Or else.

But today Cate got out. And now she's coming back for Jamie.

Because more than anything, Cate Henry needs her little brother to know the truth about their past. A truth she's kept hidden for years. A truth she's not supposed to tell.

Trust nothing and no one as you race toward the explosive conclusion of the gripping psychological thriller Complicit from Stephanie Kuehn, the William C. Morris Award--winning author of Charm & Strange.

My Review

When I got this book in the mail, I was so excited to read it.  I have such a love for YA thrillers, so I’m constantly looking for more to add to my shelf.  I had heard of author Stephanie … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as ,
3 Comments