Tag Archives: paranormal

Book Title:
The Good Demon
Book Author:
Jimmy Cajoleas
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
September 18th, 2018
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Date Read:
August 25th, 2018
Source:
I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

True Detective meets The Exorcist in this gripping YA mystery debut about one girl’s exorcism—and her desperate quest to reunite with her demon.

Clare has been miserable since her exorcism. The preacher that rid her of evil didn’t understand that her demon—simply known as Her—was like a sister to Clare. Now, Clare will do almost anything to get Her back. After a chance encounter with the son of the preacher who exorcised her, Clare goes on an adventure through the dark underbelly of her small Southern town, discovering its deep-seated occult roots. As she searches for Her, she must question the fine lines between good and evil, love and hate, and religion and free will. Vivid and sharp, The Good Demon tells the unusual story of friendship amid dark Gothic horror.

My Review

You know, I love books that give me the unexpected when I read them. I love books that are completely unlike anything else I’ve read, books that completely bend my mind into thinking other ways and give me a great … Continue reading

5 stars
1 Comment
Book Title:
The Afterlife of Holly Chase
Book Author:
Cynthia Hand
Page Count:
400
Publishing Date:
October 24th, 2017
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Date Read:
December 17th, 2017
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she'd become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways.

She didn't.

And then she died.

Now she's stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge--as the latest Ghost of Christmas Past.

Every year, they save another miserly grouch. Every year, Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. So far, Holly's afterlife has been miserable.

But this year, everything is about to change. . . .

My Review

I haven’t seen that many reviews about this book, but it was one of the ones that I most wanted to read this winter.  The plot just sounded like the perfect holiday read, and while I was excited for it, … Continue reading

4.5 stars
11 Comments
Book Title:
Silver in the Blood
Book Author:
Jessica Day George
Page Count:
368
Publishing Date:
July 7th, 2015
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Date Read:
August 17th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

As debutantes in 1890s New York City, cousins Dacia and Lou knew little about their mysterious Romanian relatives, the Florescus. Now, upon turning seventeen, the girls must journey to Romania--a journey that seems to be both reward and punishment--to meet their cousins and their tyrant of a grandmother and to learn the secrets of their family. Secrets spoken of in whispers. Dangerous secrets known as the Claw, the Wing, and the Smoke.

But as dangerous as those family secrets might be, even more dangerous is the centuries-old bond between the Florescus and the royal Dracula family, and it seems that it's time for Dacia and Lou to give up their life in New York society and take their place among the servants of the Draculas. When the devilish heir, Mihai Dracula, sets his sights on Dacia as part of his evil, power-hungry plan, the girls must accept or fight against this cruel inheritance. Do they have the courage to break the shackles of their upbringing and set the course of their own destiny?

My Review

This book has been on my to read list for ages – probably since I started my book blog back in 2015.  The thing is, I never got around to reading it because I’ve seen so many negative reviews about … Continue reading

1 stars
5 Comments
Book Title:
Reaper
Book Author:
Kyra Leigh
Page Count:
256
Publishing Date:
May 9th, 2017
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Date Read:
May 15th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Rosie Wolf is sure when you die, you go straight to Paradise, until she wakes to discover she has died in an accident and that Paradise isn’t what she thought it would be.

Rosie Wolf was sure that when her dad died, he went to Paradise. After all, isn’t that where everyone went? But when Rosie wakes up in a strange hospital bed and finds out that she’s died in an accident, she learns things aren’t always what you think they will be.

Now her father feels further away than ever, and Rosie is left to deal with the Grim Reaper, who isn’t a man in a black cloak, but a beautiful woman with a bad attitude. The Grim Reaper tells Rosie that before she can move on to Paradise, she has to go back down to Earth and collect three souls. But Rosie quickly realizes it’s not so simple.

To complicate matters, Rosie meets Kyle, a boy who is different than anyone she’s ever known. He’s cute, smart, and funny. Rosie’s been warned to stay away from the living, but she doesn’t want to. What will happen if she doesn’t?

My Review

As far as one of a kind, completely original books go, Reaper is probably one of top ones that I have read over the years.  It was unexpected, and not at all like how I thought it was going to … Continue reading

4 stars
8 Comments
Book Title:
Black Flowers, White Lies
Book Author:
Yvonne Ventresca
Publishing Date:
October 4th, 2016
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
October 28th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Her father died before she was born, but Ella Benton knows they have a supernatural connection. Since her mother discourages these beliefs, Ella keeps her cemetery visits secret. But she may not be the only one with secrets. Ella’s mother might be lying about how Dad died sixteen years ago. Newfound evidence points to his death in a psychiatric hospital, not as a result of a tragic car accident as her mother always claimed. After a lifetime of just the two of them, Mom suddenly feels like a stranger.

When a handprint much like the one Ella left on her father’s tombstone mysteriously appears on the bathroom mirror, at first she wonders if Dad is warning her of danger as he did once before. If it’s not a warning, could her new too-good-to-be-true boyfriend be responsible for the strange occurrences? Or maybe it’s the grieving building superintendent whose dead daughter strongly resembles Ella? As the unexplained events become more frequent and more sinister, Ella becomes terrified about who—or what—might harm her.

Soon the evidence points to someone else entirely: Ella herself. What if, like her father, she’s suffering from a breakdown? In this second novel from award-winning author Yvonne Ventresca, Ella desperately needs to find answers, no matter how disturbing the truth might be.

My Review

I love creepy things.  Sure, my love of creepy things forces me to sleep with lights on, but I still love them.  While I don’t really watch a lot of T.V. or movies (I used to, but I don’t really … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Certain Dark Things
Book Author:
Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Publishing Date:
October 25th, 2016
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books
Date Read:
October 13th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Welcome to Mexico City… An Oasis In A Sea Of Vampires…

Domingo, a lonely garbage-collecting street kid, is busy eking out a living when a jaded vampire on the run swoops into his life.

Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers, must feast on the young to survive and Domingo looks especially tasty. Smart, beautiful, and dangerous, Atl needs to escape to South America, far from the rival narco-vampire clan pursuing her. Domingo is smitten.

Her plan doesn’t include developing any real attachment to Domingo. Hell, the only living creature she loves is her trusty Doberman. Little by little, Atl finds herself warming up to the scrappy young man and his effervescent charm.

And then there’s Ana, a cop who suddenly finds herself following a trail of corpses and winds up smack in the middle of vampire gang rivalries.

Vampires, humans, cops, and gangsters collide in the dark streets of Mexico City. Do Atl and Domingo even stand a chance of making it out alive?

My Review

I honestly can’t say that I’ve read a lot of vampire related books – the genre typically didn’t interest me as much several years ago, but after reading Certain Dark Things, I can’t understand why I have felt that way.  … Continue reading

3 Comments
Book Title:
Shallow Graves
Book Author:
Kali Wallace
Publishing Date:
January 26th, 2016
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
January 19th, 2016

Synopsis

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

My Review

Shallow Graves is an interesting little book about a girl who wakes up in a grave eighteen inches under the ground, a few houses down from her own house.  She has been dead for a year, but doesn’t know this … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

The Wanderers Author: Kate Ormand Publisher: Sky Pony Press Release Date: September 1st 2015 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal Rating:   ­ Synopsis: A Unique Twist on Shape-Shifters with Fast-Paced Action, Thrilling Adventure, Mystery, and a Bit of Romance Flo lives … Continue reading

2 Comments