Tag Archives: memoir

Book Title:
Be Prepared
Book Author:
Vera Brosgol
Book Illustrator:
Vera Brosgol
Publishing Date:
April 24th, 2018
Publisher:
First Second
Date Read:
April 4th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

My Review

Remember a few months back when I reviewed Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost?  I had so many awesome things to tell you guys about that book, including how freaking awesome it was and how I couldn’t get enough of it.  Well, … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Title:
This is Really Happening
Book Author:
Erin Chack
Page Count:
240
Publishing Date:
April 25th, 2017
Publisher:
Razorbill
Date Read:
April 13th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack provides a collection of personal essays for the Snapchat generation.

Erin recounts everything from meeting her soulmate at age 14 to her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to what really goes on behind the scenes at a major Internet media company.

She authentically captures the agony and the ecstasy of the millennial experience, whether it's her first kiss ("Sean's tongue! In my mouth! Slippery and wet like a slug in the rain.") or her struggles with anxiety ("When people throw caution to the wind, I am stuck imagining the poor soul who has to break his back sweeping caution into a dustpan").

Yet Erin also offers a fresh perspective on universal themes of resilience and love as she writes about surviving cancer, including learning of her mother's own cancer diagnosis within the same year, and her attempts to hide the diagnosis from friends to avoid "un-normaling" everything.

My Review

This is Really Happening is a heartbreaking, witty, and fun collection of essays from Buzzfeed writer Erin Chack – stories that will both make you sad and brighten your day, both make you cry and make you laugh.  There are … Continue reading

4.5 stars
6 Comments