Tag Archives: little brown books for young readers

Book Tour

Dreamland Burning Author: Jennifer Latham Publication Date: February 21st, 2017 Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Synopsis: Some bodies won’t stay buried. Some stories need to be told.  When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family’s property, … Continue reading

9 Comments
Book Title:
A Tragic Kind of Wonderful
Book Author:
Eric Lindstrom
Publishing Date:
February 7th, 2017
Publisher:
Poppy
Date Read:
February 7th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

In the vein of It's Kind of a Funny Story and All the Bright Places, comes a captivating, immersive exploration of life with mental illness.

For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm's length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.

As the walls of Mel's compartmentalized world crumble, she fears the worst--that her friends will abandon her if they learn the truth about what she's been hiding. Can Mel bring herself to risk everything to find out?

In A Tragic Kind of Wonderful, Eric Lindstrom, author of the critically acclaimed Not If I See You First, examines the fear that keeps us from exposing our true selves, and the courage it takes to be loved for who we really are.

My Review

In A Tragic Kind of Wonderful, we get a look into a sixteen year old girl’s life as she deals with bipolar disorder.  It’s an eye-opening experience for those who might not know much about it, and for those who … Continue reading

4.5 stars
9 Comments
Book Title:
Not if I See You First
Book Author:
Eric Lindstrom
Publishing Date:
December 1st, 2015
Publisher:
Poppy
Date Read:
December 8th, 2015
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

The Rules:

Don’t deceive me. Ever. Especially using my blindness. Especially in public.

Don’t help me unless I ask. Otherwise you're just getting in my way or bothering me.

Don’t be weird. Seriously, other than having my eyes closed all the time, I’m just like you only smarter.

Parker Grant doesn’t need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That’s why she created the Rules: Don’t treat her any differently just because she’s blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart.

When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there’s only one way to react—shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that’s right, her eyes don’t work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn’t cried since her dad’s death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened—both with Scott, and her dad—the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken.

Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Eric Lindstrom’s Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.

My Review

When I first started reading this book, I thought it was going to be one of those novels that I fell head over heels in love with.  So I’m a little bit disappointed that I didn’t love it as much … Continue reading

3.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
A Million Miles Away
Book Author:
Lara Avery
Publishing Date:
July 7, 2015
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
July 21, 2015
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

My Review

This book was so hard to write a review for. Part of me hates the fact that I liked this book. It reminded me of another one of those books about teenagers doing stupid things and not having to suffer … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments