Tag Archives: katherine tegen books

Book Title:
A Conspiracy of Stars
Book Author:
Olivia A. Cole
Book Series:
Faloiv, #1
Page Count:
432
Publishing Date:
January 2nd, 2018
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
January 10th, 2018
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

Olivia A. Cole blends a richly imagined world, fantastical creatures, family secrets, and a simmering romance in her cinematic sci-fi/fantasy YA debut, perfect for fans of Amie Kaufman and Pierce Brown.

Octavia has only ever had one goal: to follow in the footsteps of her parents and become a prestigious whitecoat, one of the scientists who study the natural wonders of Faloiv. The secrets of the jungle’s exotic plants and animals are protected fiercely in the labs by the Council of N’Terra, so when the rules suddenly change, allowing students inside, Octavia should be overjoyed.

But something isn’t right. The newly elected leader of the Council has some extremist views about the way he believes N’Terra should be run, and he’s influencing others to follow him. When Octavia witnesses one of the Faloii—the indigenous people of Faloiv—attacked in front of her in the dark of night, she knows the Council is hiding something. They are living in separate worlds on a shared planet, and their fragile peace may soon turn into an all-out war.

With the help of Rondo, a quiet boy in class with a skill for hacking, and her inquisitive best friend, Alma, Octavia is set on a collision course to discover the secrets behind the history she’s been taught, the science she’s lived by, and the truth about her family.

My Review

A Conspiracy of Stars was a book I was so incredibly excited to read – I fell in love with the title, the description, the cover – everything.  I was in the mood for a really amazing science fiction novel … Continue reading

2.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
A Study in Charlotte
Book Author:
Brittany Cavallaro
Book Series:
Charlotte Holmes, #1
Publishing Date:
March 1st, 2016
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
February 26th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

My Review

A Study in Charlotte was an interesting mystery novel that plays on the Sherlock Holmes novel, A Study in Scarlet.  While I honestly haven’t read that, I have to say, this book was written pretty well – it was like … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments