Tag Archives: interview

Book Tour

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash Author: Candace Ganger Publication Date: July 25th, 2017 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin Synopsis: Candace Ganger captures all the bumps in the road and simmering chemistry of those early days of first love in … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Title:
Marigold Bakes a Cake
Book Author:
Mike Malbrough
Book Illustrator:
Mike Malbrough
Page Count:
40
Publishing Date:
July 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Date Read:
July 10th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. The he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That's not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

My Review

As someone who reads a ton of picture books every year, for a book to really stand out and become an instant favorite, it has to have a wonderful story and illustrations that I can’t get enough of.  Plus, you … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Tour

Other Breakable Things Authors: Kelley York and Rowan Altwood Publication Date: April 4th, 2017 Publisher: Entangled Teen Synopsis: According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing. Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Tour

The Castaways Author: Jessika Fleck Release Date: April 3, 2017 Genre: YA Contemporary Fantasy Synopsis: The Castaway Carnival: fun, mysterious, dangerous. Renowned for its infamous corn maze…and the kids who go missing in it. When Olive runs into the maze, … Continue reading

9 Comments
Book Tour

City of Saints and Thieves Author: Natalie C. Anderson Publication Date: January 24th, 2017 Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Synopsis: In the shadows of Sangui City, there lives a girl who doesn’t exist. After fleeing the Congo as … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Title:
Because of the Sun
Book Author:
Jenny Torres Sanchez
Publishing Date:
January 3rd, 2017
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Date Read:
January 11th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

From the backyards of suburban Florida to the parched desert of New Mexico, Because of the Sun explores the complexity of family, the saving grace of friendship, and the healing that can begin when the truth is brought to light.

Dani Falls learned to tolerate her existence in suburban Florida with her brash and seemingly unloving mother by embracing the philosophy Why care? It will only hurt. So when her mother is killed in a sudden and violent manner, Dani goes into an even deeper protection mode, total numbness. It’s the only way she can go on.

But when Dani chooses The Stranger by Albert Camus as summer reading for school, it feels like fate. The main character’s alienation after his mother’s death mirrors her own.

Dani’s life is thrown into further turmoil when she is sent to New Mexico to live with an aunt she never knew she had. The awkwardness between them is palpable. To escape, Dani takes long walks in the merciless heat. One day, she meets Paulo, who understands how much Dani is hurting. Although she is hesitant at first, a mutual trust and affection develop between Dani and Paulo, and Dani begins to heal. And as she and her aunt begin to connect, Dani learns about her mother’s past. Forgiving isn’t easy, but maybe it’s the only way to move forward.

My Review

Aside from being absolutely obsessed with the beautiful cover of this book (those colors mixing together, and the simple silhouettes of the people and water tower in the background) I was also drawn to the synopsis for this.  Because of … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Tour

Overdrive Author: Dawn Ius Publication Date: September 13th, 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse Synopsis: Gone in Sixty Seconds meets Heist Society in this edgy novel about a crack team of teenage criminals on a mission to learn to trust, build a life, and steal … Continue reading

2 Comments

The Queen’s Poisoner Author: Jeff Wheeler Publication Date: April 1st, 2016 Publisher: 47North Synopsis: As usurper of the throne, the rule of King Severn Argentine’s is already highly contested. To keep his power, King Argentine rules with an iron fist … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Title:
The Star-Touched Queen
Book Author:
Roshani Chokshi
Publishing Date:
April 26th, 2016
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Date Read:
May 4th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen? Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Review

“I wanted a love thick with time, as inscrutable as if a lathe had carved it from night and as familiar as the marrow in my bones. I wanted the impossible, which made it that much easier to push out … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Title:
Firsts
Book Author:
Laurie Elizabeth Flynn
Publishing Date:
January 5th, 2016
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin/Thomas Dunne Books
Date Read:
January 2nd, 2016

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time-the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy - so far. Her mother isn't home nearly enough to know about Mercedes' extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won't even say the word "sex" until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn't bank on Angela's boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn - or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes' perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her own reputation -and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, Laurie Elizabeth Flynn's Firsts is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.

My Review

This was one of my most highly anticipated reads of 2016, and it only seemed fitting that it would be the first book I read in the new year.  When I first learned about this book, it sounded like a … Continue reading

4 stars
7 Comments