Tag Archives: 5 stars

Book Tour
Book Title:
Girl Out of Water
Book Author:
Laura Silverman
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
May 2nd, 2017
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
April 12th, 2017
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

My Review

If you are looking for a fun summer contemporary that will have you racing for the beach and the warm sand, Girl out of Water is probably one of the best reads that will definitely perk up your summer days! … Continue reading

10 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
The Giant Jumperee
Book Author:
Julia Donaldson
Book Illustrator:
Helen Oxenbury
Page Count:
32
Publishing Date:
April 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Dial Books
Date Read:
April 1st, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

Two of the world's most celebrated picture book creators, Julia Donaldson and Helen Oxenbury, team up for the first time in this jaunty animal fable for fans of Room on the Broom and We're Going on a Bear Hunt.

Rabbit arrives home one day to hear a loud voice coming from inside his burrow:

"I'm the Giant Jumperee and I'm scary as can be!" shouts the stranger.

Rabbit's friends Cat, Bear, and Elephant come to help, but they're no match for the mysterious, booming voice. But who is the Giant Jumperee? Find out in this new read-aloud classic from internationally bestselling author Julia Donaldson, beautifully brought to life by award-winning illustrator Helen Oxenbury.

My Review

As far as sweet, adorable picture books go, I have to say that I think The Giant Jumperee is one of the best that I’ve come across!  Not only was it a fun book to read, with an engaging story … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour
Book Title:
If I Were a Kangaroo
Book Author:
Mylisa Larsen
Book Illustrator:
Anna Raff
Page Count:
32
Publishing Date:
April 4th, 2017
Publisher:
Viking Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
April 3rd, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

If I were a kangaroo,

I'd pick you up and carry you

In my pocket, sleepyhead,

And hop you gently off to bed.

It's time for sleep, and this fun-to-read rhyming tale envisions the bedtime rituals of animals from whales to otters, squirrels to gorillas.

So curl up, imagine your favorite animal, and...zzzzzzzzzzz.

My Review

I love picture books that focus on parents and their babies – especially when I get to read them to my own babies.  There is so much of a warm and happy feeling you get when you’re reading about animal … Continue reading

5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Nemesis
Book Author:
Brendan Reichs
Book Series:
Project Nemesis, #1
Publishing Date:
March 21st, 2017
Publisher:
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
March 21st, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

He killed me. He killed me not. He killed me.

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later, she wakes up in a clearing just outside her tiny Idaho hometown—alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the horrifying crime erased.

Across the valley, Noah just wants to be like everyone else. But he’s not. Nightmares of murder and death plague him, though he does his best to hide the signs. But when the world around him begins to spiral toward panic and destruction, Noah discovers that people have been lying to him his whole life. Everything changes in an eye blink.

For the planet has a bigger problem. The Anvil, an enormous asteroid threatening all life on Earth, leaves little room for two troubled teens. Yet on her sixteenth birthday, as she cowers in her bedroom, hoping not to die for the fifth time, Min has had enough. She vows to discover what is happening in Fire Lake and uncovers a lifetime of lies: a vast conspiracy involving the sixty-four students of her sophomore class, one that may be even more sinister than the murders.

My Review

As a reader who is incredibly fond of YA thrillers, when a copy of Nemesis fell into my hands, I was beyond excited to start reading.  Having never read anything else by Brendan Reichs, I wasn’t sure exactly what I … Continue reading

5 stars
9 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Piecing Me Together
Book Author:
Renée Watson
Publishing Date:
February 14th, 2017
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Date Read:
February 19th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

A timely and powerful story about a teen girl from a poor neighborhood striving for success, from acclaimed author Renée Watson.

Jade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she’s ever going to succeed. Her mother says she has to take every opportunity. She has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even Saturday morning test prep opportunities. But some opportunities feel more demeaning than helpful. Like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for “at-risk” girls. Except really, it’s for black girls. From “bad” neighborhoods.

But Jade doesn’t need support. And just because her mentor is black doesn’t mean she understands Jade. And maybe there are some things Jade could show these successful women about the real world and finding ways to make a real difference.

Friendships, race, privilege, identity—this compelling and thoughtful story explores the issues young women face.

My Review

Before I started reading this book, I knew it was going to be powerful, but nothing prepared me for just how powerful and important that this novel is.  This is one of those books that I think should be mandatory … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Title:
You Don't Know My Name
Book Author:
Kristen Orlando
Book Series:
The Black Angel Chronicles, #1
Publishing Date:
January 10th, 2017
Publisher:
Swoon Reads
Date Read:
January 17th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Fighter, Faker, Student, Spy. Seventeen-year-old Reagan Elizabeth Hillis is used to changing identities overnight, lying to every friend she’s ever had, and pushing away anyone who gets too close. Trained in mortal combat and weaponry her entire life, Reagan is expected to follow in her parents’ footsteps and join the ranks of the most powerful top-secret agency in the world, the Black Angels. Falling in love with the boy next door was never part of the plan.

Now Reagan has to decide: Will she use her incredible talents and lead the dangerous life she was born into, or throw it all away to follow her heart and embrace the normal life she's always wanted? And does she even have a choice at all?

Find out if you are ready to join the Black Angels in the captivating and emotional page-turner, You Don't Know My Name, from debut novelist Kristen Orlando!

My Review

You Don’t Know My Name is described in the synopsis as a “page turner,” and let me point out how true this is!  I couldn’t put this down, and before I knew it, I had read through the entire book.  … Continue reading

5 stars
12 Comments
Book Title:
A Man Called Ove
Book Author:
Fredrik Backman
Publishing Date:
July 15, 2014
Publisher:
Atria Books
Date Read:
March 29, 2015
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

In this bestselling and delightfully quirky debut novel from Sweden, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door. In this bestselling and delightfully quirky debut novel from Sweden, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door. Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon—the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him “the bitter neighbor from hell.” But must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time? Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove’s mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents’ association to their very foundations. A feel-good story in the spirit of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, Fredrik Backman’s novel about the angry old man next door is a thoughtful and charming exploration of the profound impact one life has on countless others.

My Review

With the upcoming release of Fredrik Backman’s new novel, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, I thought that I would do a special review of his debut novel, A Man Called Ove.  I had originally reviewed this … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment