Tag Archives: 3.5 stars

Book Title:
Worthy
Book Author:
Donna Cooner
Publishing Date:
March 28th, 2017
Publisher:
Scholastic
Date Read:
March 23rd, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Download the app. Be the judge.

Everyone at Linden's high school is obsessed with Worthy. It's this new app that posts pictures of couples, and asks: Is the girl worthy of the guy?

Suddenly, relationships implode as the votes climb and the comments get real ugly real fast.

At first, Linden is focused on other things. Like cute Alex Rivera. Prom committee. Her writing. But soon she's intrigued by Worthy. Who's posting the pictures? Who's voting? And what will happen when the spotlight turns... on Linden?

My Review

Worthy is a cute little contemporary that shows what can happen when an app is developed and targets the girls at an ordinary high school, causing them to be rated by their peers as to whether or not they are … Continue reading

3.5 stars
1 Comment
Book Title:
Izzy Kline Has Butterflies
Book Author:
Beth Ain
Publishing Date:
March 7th, 2017
Publisher:
Random House Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
March 1st, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

So many moments—big and small—make up a year, and Beth Ain chronicles them all in this heartwarming novel in verse, perfect for fans of Fish in a Tree and verse novels like Brown Girl Dreaming and The Crossover.

Fourth grade is here, and Izzy Kline is nervous! There are plenty of reasons for the butterflies in her stomach to flap their wings. There’s a new girl in her class who might be a new best friend. The whole grade is performing Free to Be . . . You and Me—and Izzy really wants a starring role. And new changes at home are making Izzy feel like her family is falling apart. First-day jitters, new friends, an audition . . . How many butterfly problems can one fourth grader take?

My Review

Izzy Kline is going to fourth grade, and she’s nervous about it.  She spends her time wondering what the year is going to entail for her – who will be her friend?  Will she get the lead spot in the … Continue reading

3.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
A Drop of Night
Book Author:
Stefan Bachmann
Publishing Date:
March 15th, 2016
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Date Read:
March 18th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace

You cannot guess its secrets.

My Review

This book was a tad bit…difficult for me to review.  On one hand, I enjoyed it – the mystery, the creepy aspects of it, the way everything seemed to wrap up neatly.  On the other hand, I spent the majority … Continue reading

3.5 stars
4 Comments