Tag Archives: 2.5 stars

Book Title:
A Conspiracy of Stars
Book Author:
Olivia A. Cole
Book Series:
Faloiv, #1
Page Count:
432
Publishing Date:
January 2nd, 2018
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
January 10th, 2018
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

Olivia A. Cole blends a richly imagined world, fantastical creatures, family secrets, and a simmering romance in her cinematic sci-fi/fantasy YA debut, perfect for fans of Amie Kaufman and Pierce Brown.

Octavia has only ever had one goal: to follow in the footsteps of her parents and become a prestigious whitecoat, one of the scientists who study the natural wonders of Faloiv. The secrets of the jungle’s exotic plants and animals are protected fiercely in the labs by the Council of N’Terra, so when the rules suddenly change, allowing students inside, Octavia should be overjoyed.

But something isn’t right. The newly elected leader of the Council has some extremist views about the way he believes N’Terra should be run, and he’s influencing others to follow him. When Octavia witnesses one of the Faloii—the indigenous people of Faloiv—attacked in front of her in the dark of night, she knows the Council is hiding something. They are living in separate worlds on a shared planet, and their fragile peace may soon turn into an all-out war.

With the help of Rondo, a quiet boy in class with a skill for hacking, and her inquisitive best friend, Alma, Octavia is set on a collision course to discover the secrets behind the history she’s been taught, the science she’s lived by, and the truth about her family.

My Review

A Conspiracy of Stars was a book I was so incredibly excited to read – I fell in love with the title, the description, the cover – everything.  I was in the mood for a really amazing science fiction novel … Continue reading

2.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Beautiful Broken Girls
Book Author:
Kim Savage
Publishing Date:
February 21st, 2017
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Date Read:
February 18th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Remember the places you touched me.

The parts of Mira Cillo that Ben touched are etched on his soul.

Palm. Hair. Chest. Cheek. Lips. Throat. Heart.

It was the last one that broke her. After her death, Mira sends Ben on a quest for notes she left in the seven places where they touched—notes that explain why she and her sister, Francesca, drowned themselves in the quarry. How Ben interprets those notes has everything to do with the way he was touched by a bad coach years before. But the truth behind the girls’ suicides is far more complicated, involving a dangerous infatuation, a deadly miracle, and a crushing lie.

My Review

Before reading Beautiful Broken Girls, I didn’t actually have the chance to read Kim Savage’s debut novel, After the Woods.  I did, however, hear nothing but amazing things about that book, so it really sparked an interest in her new … Continue reading

2.5 stars
10 Comments