Book Title:
A Million Miles Away
Book Author:
Lara Avery
Publishing Date:
July 7, 2015
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
July 21, 2015
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

My Review

This book was so hard to write a review for.

Part of me hates the fact that I liked this book. It reminded me of another one of those books about teenagers doing stupid things and not having to suffer any consequences for what they do. Normally that’s a good way to get me to really be critical about a book, but for some reason, I have a soft spot for this one. Maybe it was due to the fact that it had such an interesting storyline. Maybe it was due to the fact that I felt absolutely horrible for Kelsey, because I can’t imagine what she had to be going through to lose her identical twin. Maybe it was due to the fact that Peter was over there in Afghanistan, thinking he was talking to Michelle, and only getting by on the fact that he still had her in his life.

Honestly, I think it was all of these things, and the beautiful way in which this story was written. It captured my heart and I felt so many things for not only the characters, but the book itself. It was one of those books that I didn’t really want to put down, because I just had to see how everything was going to play out.

Everyone seemed to have mixed opinions on this book, and I could easily see why. There are just so many things that could easily be a deal breaker…especially how Kelsey lies to Peter and lets him believe that she is, in fact, Michelle. Even though her feelings for Peter develop and she falls in love with him, she still doesn’t tell him that she’s really Kelsey, and that Michelle had actually died. Also, Peter doesn’t even pick up on this – not even when he gets some time off duty to go to Paris for a weekend, and she goes with him. So you can imagine how he must have felt when he finally does find out she’s not Michelle. But yet, you kind of feel really bad for Kelsey, because the reason she doesn’t want to tell Peter she isn’t Michelle is because he’s been through so much over there, that the only thing holding him together is the fact that he has Michelle, he loves her, and she loves him. Kelsey doesn’t want to deny him the one thing that makes him happy and keeps him going, even though letting him think that she is Michelle is…well…not the best way she could have handled the situation.

Was the book good? Yes, it was. It was a really beautifully written novel, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would I recommend it? I would, especially if you’re looking for a book that will be good at making you feel a ton of emotions all at once. Bring some tissues. And a stress ball (you may want to throw things at some point).

Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

4 stars
This entry was posted in Reviews, Romance, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

  1. This is a perfect review of this book! I couldn’t put my finger on the discomfort I had writing the review, but reading yours, I realized you’ve nailed it: I feel like I shouldn’t have liked the book! I mean, what the hell, Kelsey!? Who makes that kind of decision!? But it WAS so good, and so well written, and so full of feels… that I had to just relent and let myself love it! Fabulous review- and thanks for helping me figure out my feelings 😉

    • Kelly says:

      Right? Exactly what you said, you really had to just let yourself love the book, otherwise you just sat there are wanted to smack Kelsey throughout the entire book, haha. It was so amazing though! Glad you liked it, too!

Reply to Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge