Book Title:
What Big Teeth
Book Author:
Rose Szabo
Page Count:
394
Publishing Date:
February 2nd, 2021
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Date Read:
December 20th, 2021
Format:
Hardcover
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together — in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

My Review

I started reading this book when I was in a reading slump, and because of that it took me a good amount of time to finish it. We’re talking like a month. Which is completely unlike me, but it wasn’t … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment
Book Title:
Come Closer
Book Author:
Sara Gran
Page Count:
196
Publishing Date:
July 1st, 2003
Publisher:
Soho Press
Date Read:
March 1st, 2022
Format:
Kindle Edition
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

A recurrent, unidentifiable noise in her apartment. A memo to her boss that's replaced by obscene insults. Amanda—a successful architect in a happy marriage—finds her life going off kilter by degrees. She starts smoking again, and one night for no reason, without even the knowledge that she's doing it, she burns her husband with a cigarette. At night she dreams of a beautiful woman with pointed teeth on the shore of a blood-red sea.

The new voice in Amanda's head, the one that tells her to steal things and talk to strange men in bars, is strange and frightening, and Amanda struggles to wrest back control of her life. Is she possessed by a demon, or is she simply insane?

My Review

“What we think is impossible happens all the time.” Come Closer by Sara Gran is one of those books that I took a chance on – it sounded interesting and it was available to read for free on Prime Reading, … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment

  Mental health is something we should all be taking a little more seriously this year, especially since the pandemic has changed our lives in a lot of ways in the last few years. As we reach into the spring … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

There are many different exciting milestones that people will look forward to over the course of their lifetime. One of the first major ones is finishing school, and one of the later examples could be retirement. These are all occasions … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

Figuring out how to save and spend on a bedroom can be a bit hard, especially when some of us are working with a limited budget and can’t afford to replace almost everything. Even if you don’t want to redecorate … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Patient
Book Author:
Jasper DeWitt
Page Count:
224
Publishing Date:
July 7th 2020
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Date Read:
November 28th, 2021
Format:
Kindle Edition
Source:
Prime Reading

Synopsis

The Silent Patient by way of Stephen King: Parker, a young, overconfident psychiatrist new to his job at a mental asylum, miscalculates catastrophically when he undertakes curing a mysterious and profoundly dangerous patient.

In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient.

We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility’s most difficult, profoundly dangerous case—a forty-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide.

Desperate and fearful, the hospital’s directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control, and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew.

Fans of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay’s The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt’s astonishing debut.

My Review

My gosh it has been a long time since I’ve written a book review! I have been reading, I just…have been really lazy and haven’t reviewed any books in a while. Not sure why, honestly – I think about how … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment

Leather products and accessories don’t come cheap, and a lot of them might even have sentimental value. Naturally, you want them to last as long as possible, which is why you need the best tips possible on how to look … Continue reading

Tagged as
1 Comment

It’s an undeniable fact that we’re all looking for ways to make more money. And unless you want to start moonlighting as a barista, your best bet is probably going online and using apps on your phone. It sounds simple, … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

Buying a home is quite possibly one of life’s biggest achievements. That being said, it’s a huge investment when you look at your financial future. Regular mortgage payments can build equity in your property over time but that being said, … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

  Over the past year and half, many of us have grown increasingly concerned about our children’s education. Of course, our little ones will always require a little help and encouragement with their education at home. But with the coronavirus … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment