Book Tour

THE CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE Author: Ria Voros Pub. Date: April 2, 2018 Publisher: KCP Loft Formats: Hardcover, eBook Pages: 512 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, TBD Synopsis: Grace Carter’s mother — the celebrity news anchor GG Carter — is everything Grace is not. GG is a star, with … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Title:
The Twisted Tree
Book Author:
Rachel Burge
Page Count:
248
Publishing Date:
January 10th, 2019
Publisher:
Hot Key Books
Date Read:
March 27th, 2019
Format:
Paperback
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

My Review

The Twisted Tree caught my attention when I was browsing Goodreads. It came across as a recommendation because I loved Coraline, and upon reading the synopsis, I instantly decided that I needed to read it. Because it isn’t available on … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments

How To Boost Your Fertility We enjoy a happy ending, but sometimes real life isn’t as clear cut and happy as a novel can be, and when it comes to trying to conceive, although it should be an enjoyable, exciting … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

A Guide to Helping You Find Love To many people, love is something of a mystery. This could be because while some have been lucky enough to find the love of their love, others are still on the lookout. If … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
Clean
Book Author:
Amy Reed
Page Count:
272
Publishing Date:
July 19th, 2011
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Date Read:
March 25th, 2019
Format:
Hardcover
Source:
Trade

Synopsis

You’re probably wondering how I ended up here. I’m still wondering the same thing.

Olivia, Kelly, Christopher, Jason, and Eva have one thing in common: They're addicts. Addicts who have hit rock bottom and been stuck together in rehab to face their problems, face sobriety, and face themselves. None of them wants to be there. None of them wants to confront the truths about their pasts. And they certainly don’t want to share their darkest secrets and most desperate fears with a room of strangers. But they'll all have to deal with themselves and one another if they want to learn how to live. Because when you get that high, there's nowhere to go but down, down, down.

My Review

Clean is one of those books that I honestly wasn’t sure that I would love as much as I did! I haven’t read Beautiful by Amy Reed, but I have heard some really good things about it, so I grabbed … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Last Star Burning
Book Author:
Caitlin Sangster
Book Series:
Last Star Burning, #1
Page Count:
400
Publishing Date:
October 10th, 2017
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Date Read:
February 1st, 2019
Format:
Hardcover
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Sev is branded with the mark of a criminal—a star burned into her hand. That’s the penalty for being the daughter of the woman who betrayed their entire nation.

Now her mother’s body is displayed above Traitor’s Arch, kept in a paralyzed half sleep by the same plague that destroyed the rest of the world. And as further punishment, Sev is forced to do hard labor to prove that she’s more valuable alive than dead.

When the government blames Sev for a horrific bombing, she must escape the city or face the chopping block. Unimaginable dangers lurk outside the city walls, and Sev’s only hope of survival lies with the most unlikely person—Howl, the chairman’s son. Though he promises to lead her to safety, Howl has secrets, and Sev can’t help but wonder if he knows more about her past—and her mother’s crimes—than he lets on.

But in a hostile world, trust is a luxury. Even when Sev’s life and the lives of everyone she loves may hang in the balance.

My Review

Last Star Burning was a book that I bought a while ago, but never picked up until now. It just sounded so amazing, and I fell in love with that gorgeous blue and silvery cover. The whole concept behind the … Continue reading

3 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Sky Without Stars (System Divine #1) by Jessica Brody & Joanne Rendell Publisher: Simon Pulse Release Date: March 26th 2019 Genre: Retellings, Young Adult, Science Fiction   Synopsis: A thief. An officer. A guardian.  Three strangers, one shared destiny . . . When the Last Days … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
3 Comments
Book Title:
The Waking Forest
Book Author:
Alyssa Wees
Page Count:
304
Publishing Date:
March 12th, 2019
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Date Read:
March 13th, 2019
Format:
eARC
Source:
I received an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis

Pan's Labyrinth meets The Hazel Wood in this novel about a girl with terrifying visions and a wish-granting witch whose lives collide in the most unexpected of ways.

The waking forest has secrets. To Rhea, it appears like a mirage, dark and dense, at the very edge of her backyard. But when she reaches out to touch it, the forest vanishes. She's desperate to know more--until she finds a peculiar boy who offers to reveal its secrets. If she plays a game.

To the Witch, the forest is her home, where she sits on her throne of carved bone, waiting for dreaming children to beg her to grant their wishes. One night, a mysterious visitor arrives and asks her what she wishes for, but the Witch sends him away. And then the uninvited guest returns.

The strangers are just the beginning. Something is stirring in the forest, and when Rhea's and the Witch's paths collide, a truth more treacherous and deadly than either could ever imagine surfaces. But how much are they willing to risk to survive?

My Review

The Waking Forest was my most anticipated read for early 2019. I was so excited to read it – from that gorgeous cover to the synopsis that promised frightening visions and a witch that grants wishes, I was all in. … Continue reading

2 stars
3 Comments
Book Tour

Title: THE EVERLASTING ROSE (The Belles #2) Author: Dhonielle Clayton Pub. Date: March 5, 2019 Publisher: Freeform Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages: 352 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Audible, B&N, iBooks, TBD Synopsis: In this sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller, Camille, her sister Edel, and her guard and new love Remy … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment

Taking care of your health on a budget may not be as difficult as it seems. The way that you live your life and the habits that you build determine how good your health will be. Medical assistance can be … Continue reading

Tagged as
3 Comments