Book Tour

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash Author: Candace Ganger Publication Date: July 25th, 2017 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin Synopsis: Candace Ganger captures all the bumps in the road and simmering chemistry of those early days of first love in … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Title:
Marigold Bakes a Cake
Book Author:
Mike Malbrough
Book Illustrator:
Mike Malbrough
Page Count:
40
Publishing Date:
July 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Date Read:
July 10th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. The he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That's not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

My Review

As someone who reads a ton of picture books every year, for a book to really stand out and become an instant favorite, it has to have a wonderful story and illustrations that I can’t get enough of.  Plus, you … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Tour

Wesley James Ruined My Life Jennifer Honeybourn Published by: Swoon Reads Publication date: July 18th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
10 Comments
Book Title:
Maybe in Paris
Book Author:
Rebecca Christiansen
Page Count:
240
Publishing Date:
June 20th, 2017
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
July 18th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

Keira Braidwood lands in Paris with her autistic brother, Levi, and high hopes. Levi has just survived a suicide attempt and months in the psych ward—he’s ready for a dose of the wider world. Unlike their helicopter mom and the doctors who hover over Levi, Keira doesn’t think Levi’s certifiable. He’s just . . . quirky. Always has been.

Those quirks quickly begin to spoil the trip. Keira wants to traipse all over Europe; Levi barely wants to leave their grubby hotel room. She wants to dine on the world’s cuisine; he only wants fast food. Levi is one giant temper tantrum, and Keira’s ready to pull out her own hair.

She finally finds the adventure she craves in Gable, a hot Scottish bass player, but while Keira flirts in the Paris Catacombs, Levi’s mental health breaks. He disappears from their hotel room and Keira realizes, too late, that her brother is sicker than she was willing to believe. To bring him home safe, Keira must tear down the wall that Levi’s sickness and her own guilt have built between them.

My Review

Maybe in Paris was the kind of book that had a really strong premise, and I expected a lot from it.  As a book that features a character on the Autism spectrum, I really hoped for the best here, because … Continue reading

2.5 stars
1 Comment
Book Tour

Amid Stars and Darkness Chani Lynn Feener Published by: Swoon Reads Publication date: July 18th 2017 Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Delaney’s entire world is thrown into chaos after she is mistaken for Lissa Olena, an alien princess hiding … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
9 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
The Special Ones
Book Author:
Em Bailey
Page Count:
304
Publishing Date:
July 18th, 2017
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
July 9th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

Esther is one of the Special Ones: four young spiritual guides who live in a remote farmhouse under the protection of a mysterious cult leader. He watches them around the clock, ready to punish them if they forget who they are—and all the while, broadcasting their lives to eager followers on the outside. Esther knows that if she stops being Special, he will “renew” her. Nobody knows what happens to the Special Ones who are taken away from the farm for renewal, but Esther fears the worst. Like an actor caught up in an endless play, she must keep up the performance if she wants to survive long enough to escape.

My Review

The Special Ones was one of those really interesting (and incredibly creepy) sounding books that almost completely slipped under the radar for me, but once I heard about it, I knew it was the kind of book that I really … Continue reading

8 Comments
Book Tour

The Last Magician Author: Lisa Maxwell Publication Date: July 18th, 2017 Publisher: Simon Pulse Pages: 512 Format: Hardcover and Ebook Synopsis: Stop the Magician. Steal the book. Save the future. In modern day New York, magic is all but extinct. … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Tour

A Void the Size of the World Author: Rachele Alpine Publication Date: June 20th, 2017 Publisher: Simon Pulse Synopsis: A haunting novel about a girl who must face the consequences after her actions indirectly lead to her sister’s disappearance. Rhylee … Continue reading

10 Comments
Book Title:
We Were Liars Deluxe Edition
Book Author:
E. Lockhart
Page Count:
272
Publishing Date:
May 23rd, 2017
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Date Read:
May 20th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

The New York Times bestseller We Were Liars is now available as a not-to-be-missed hardcover deluxe edition! Whether you know how it ends (shh . . . don t tell!) or have let too many seasons go by without discovering the truth about the Liars for yourself, you will want to get your hands on the exclusive new content in this deluxe edition.

A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.

A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.

A group of four friends the Liars whose friendship turns destructive.

A revolution. An accident. A secret.

Lies upon lies.

True love.

The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. In addition to the bestselling novel, the collector s edition includes:

.Never-before-shared letters from Gat to Cadence

.A fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the author s creative process

.The author s hand-drawn map of Beechwood Island and the Sinclair family tree

.Unique ideas for book discussions Sinclair family style

.An excerpt from E. Lockhart s upcoming novel Genuine Fraud a psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

My Review

I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about We Were Liars over the years, but I hadn’t read it, and I’m not sure why.  It’s weird, because it seems like most readers either love it or hate it – there aren’t … Continue reading

3 stars
18 Comments
Book Title:
The Girl with the Ghost Machine
Book Author:
Lauren DeStefano
Page Count:
224
Publishing Date:
June 6th, 2017
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Date Read:
June 30th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

What if a machine could bring back the ones we love? From New York Times bestseller Lauren DeStefano comes a captivating middle grade of loss, love and hope.

In this beautiful and poignant novel, acclaimed author Lauren DeStefano tells a story of love and loss, and what it means to say goodbye.

When Emmaline Beaumont's father started building the ghost machine, she didn't expect it to bring her mother back from the dead. But by locking himself in the basement to toil away at his hopes, Monsieur Beaumont has become obsessed with the contraption and neglected the living, and Emmaline is tired of feeling forgotten.

Nothing good has come from building the ghost machine, and Emmaline decides that the only way to bring her father back will be to make the ghost machine work…or destroy it forever.

My Review

The Girl with the Ghost Machine is an interesting story about a grieving girl who lost her mother to illness, and who is afraid she is losing her father to a machine that he is trying to build to bring … Continue reading

4 stars
12 Comments