Book Tour

Shadowsong Author: S. Jae-Jones Series: Wintersong, #2 Publication Date: February 6th, 2018 Publisher: Wednesday Books Synopsis: Six months after the end of Wintersong, Liesl is working toward furthering both her brother’s and her own musical careers. Although she is determined … Continue reading

10 Comments
Book Tour

Tempests and Slaughter Author: Tamora Pierce Publication Date: February 6th, 2018 Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers Pages: 480 Formats: Hardcover, ebook, audiobook Synopsis: Arram. Varice. Ozorne. In the first book in the Numair Chronicles, three student mages are … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
7 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
American Panda
Book Author:
Gloria Chao
Page Count:
322
Publishing Date:
February 6th, 2018
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Date Read:
January 31st, 2018
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

An incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her germophobia and crush on a Japanese classmate.

At seventeen, Mei should be in high school, but skipping fourth grade was part of her parents’ master plan. Now a freshman at MIT, she is on track to fulfill the rest of this predetermined future: become a doctor, marry a preapproved Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer, produce a litter of babies.

With everything her parents have sacrificed to make her cushy life a reality, Mei can’t bring herself to tell them the truth—that she (1) hates germs, (2) falls asleep in biology lectures, and (3) has a crush on her classmate Darren Takahashi, who is decidedly not Taiwanese.

But when Mei reconnects with her brother, Xing, who is estranged from the family for dating the wrong woman, Mei starts to wonder if all the secrets are truly worth it. Can she find a way to be herself, whoever that is, before her web of lies unravels?

From debut author Gloria Chao comes a hilarious, heartfelt tale of how unlike the panda, life isn’t always so black and white.

My Review

From the very first chapter of this book, I knew for a fact that this was going to wind up being a 5 star read.  It’s been a while since a book has really captured my attention and made me … Continue reading

13 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Fade to Us
Book Author:
Julia Day
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
February 6th, 2018
Publisher:
Wednesday Books
Date Read:
January 29th, 2018
Source:
I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

Fade To Us is a story about found families, the bond of sisterhood, and the agony and awe of first love.

Brooke’s summer is going to be EPIC--having fun with her friends and a job that lets her buy a car. Then her new stepfather announces his daughter is moving in. Brooke has always longed for a sibling, so she’s excited about spending more time with her stepsister. But she worries, too. Natalie has Asperger’s--and Brooke’s not sure how to be the big sister that Natalie needs.

After Natalie joins a musical theater program, Brooke sacrifices her job to volunteer for the backstage crew. She’s mostly there for Natalie, but Brooke soon discovers how much she enjoys being part of the show. Especially sweet is the chance to work closely with charming and fascinating Micah--the production’s stage manager. If only he wasn’t Natalie’s mentor…

When summer comes to an end, will Brooke finally have the family she so desperately wants–and the love she’s only dreamed about?

My Review

Fade to Us is a moving novel about family, first love, and what it means to be a great sister, even when circumstances make it difficult to be your best. I went into Fade to Us wondering just how much … Continue reading

8 Comments
Book Title:
A Conspiracy of Stars
Book Author:
Olivia A. Cole
Book Series:
Faloiv, #1
Page Count:
432
Publishing Date:
January 2nd, 2018
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
January 10th, 2018
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

Olivia A. Cole blends a richly imagined world, fantastical creatures, family secrets, and a simmering romance in her cinematic sci-fi/fantasy YA debut, perfect for fans of Amie Kaufman and Pierce Brown.

Octavia has only ever had one goal: to follow in the footsteps of her parents and become a prestigious whitecoat, one of the scientists who study the natural wonders of Faloiv. The secrets of the jungle’s exotic plants and animals are protected fiercely in the labs by the Council of N’Terra, so when the rules suddenly change, allowing students inside, Octavia should be overjoyed.

But something isn’t right. The newly elected leader of the Council has some extremist views about the way he believes N’Terra should be run, and he’s influencing others to follow him. When Octavia witnesses one of the Faloii—the indigenous people of Faloiv—attacked in front of her in the dark of night, she knows the Council is hiding something. They are living in separate worlds on a shared planet, and their fragile peace may soon turn into an all-out war.

With the help of Rondo, a quiet boy in class with a skill for hacking, and her inquisitive best friend, Alma, Octavia is set on a collision course to discover the secrets behind the history she’s been taught, the science she’s lived by, and the truth about her family.

My Review

A Conspiracy of Stars was a book I was so incredibly excited to read – I fell in love with the title, the description, the cover – everything.  I was in the mood for a really amazing science fiction novel … Continue reading

2.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Tour

Winner Take All Author: Laurie Devore Publication Date: January 30th, 2018 Publisher: Imprint Pages: 336 Formats: Hardcover, ebook, audiobook Synopsis: For Nell Becker, life is a competition she needs to win. For Jackson Hart, everyone is a pawn in his … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
3 Comments
Book Tour

Dear Dwayne, With Love Author: Eliza Gordon Publication Date: January 23rd, 2018 Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Pages: 380 Formats: Paperback, ebook, audiobook Synopsis: Wannabe actress Dani Steele’s résumé resembles a cautionary tale on how not to be famous. She’s pushing … Continue reading

1 Comment
Book Tour
Book Title:
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
Book Author:
Lianne Oelke
Page Count:
416
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
January 25th, 2018
Source:
I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than failure is pity. After a personal crisis and her subsequent expulsion from high school, she’s going nowhere fast. Jane’s well-meaning parents push her to attend a high school completion program at the nearby Elbow River Community College, and she agrees, on one condition: she gets to move out.

Jane tackles her housing problem by signing up for House of Orange, a student-run reality show that is basically Big Brother, but for Elbow River Students. Living away from home, the chance to win a car (used, but whatever), and a campus full of people who don't know what she did in high school… what more could she want? Okay, maybe a family that understands why she’d rather turn to Freud than Jesus to make sense of her life, but she'll settle for fifteen minutes in the proverbial spotlight.

As House of Orange grows from a low-budget web series to a local TV show with fans and shoddy T-shirts, Jane finally has the chance to let her cynical, competitive nature thrive. She'll use her growing fan base, and whatever Intro to Psychology can teach her, to prove to the world—or at least viewers of substandard TV—that she has what it takes to win.

My Review

I heard that Nice Try, Jane Sinner was funny, but I wasn’t expecting to fully enjoy it and laugh as hard as I did.  From the very first page I caught myself laughing, and as the book went on, I … Continue reading

7 Comments

I Have Some Awesome News! Hi guys! So as some of you know, I’ve been working on my first novel, Finding Forgiveness for a while now, and since it’s been finished, I’ve been trying to figure out what to do … Continue reading

5 Comments
Book Title:
Flower Moon
Book Author:
Gina Linko
Page Count:
256
Publishing Date:
January 2nd, 2018
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
January 14th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

Tempest and Tally Jo Trimble are mirror twins—so alike they were almost born the same person—and they've been inseparable since birth. But it's the summer they turn thirteen, and it seems like everyone can tell something is changing between them. Pa Charlie, whose traveling carnival is the best part of every summer, is watching them closer than ever. Digger, who sneaks poor kids onto the carnival rides for free and smiles faster than anyone, seems to be fixing for a fight. Even Mama is acting different, refusing to travel with the carnival this year even though her own twin, who she hasn't seen since childhood, will be there.

And Tally and Tempest are the most different of all. There's a strangeness between them, a thickness to the air, an unseen push and pull, and it's getting stronger. It starts as a feeling, but soon it's sputtering and sparking, hurling them backwards, threatening to explode.

When Tally learns that she and Tempest may not be the first twins in their family to be separated by whatever this force is, she realizes she'll have to find a way to stop it—or she might lose not only her sister, but everyone she loves.

My Review

The first thing that I noticed and fell in love with about Flower Moon was the gorgeous cover on the book.  From that beautiful text the title is written in to the purple cover with the moon, Ferris wheel, and … Continue reading

4 stars
6 Comments