Book Tour

The Truth About Martians

Author: Melissa Savage

Pub. Date: October 2, 2018

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 336

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonAudibleB&NiBooksTBD

Synopsis: A boy and his best friends set out to discover the aliens who crash-landed next to their Roswell, New Mexico, farm in this charming novel packed with adventure and heart, perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Jennifer L. Holm’s The Fourteenth Goldfish.

Mylo never really believed in Martians, unless they had a starring role in one of his comic books. But then a flying saucer crash-lands next to his Roswell, New Mexico, ranch, and he starts to hear voices–like someone is asking for his help.

With his best friend Dibs and crush Gracie by his side, and his Cracker Jack superhero membership card, a slingshot, and a small American flag–for peace–in tow, Mylo sets out on an epic adventure to investigate the crash and find the Martians. But he and his friends end up discovering more about the universe than they ever could have imagined.


lemons was such a cute, fun book and I loved everything about it, so when I heard that Melissa Savage was releasing another book, I was beyond excited about it – I wanted to read it as soon as possible! I was hoping for the same whimsical and fun themes with heartfelt meaning and characters that were easy to connect with and fall in love with, and that’s exactly what you get in The Truth About Martians!

The main character in the book, Mylo, isn’t the kind of kid who believes in aliens. He loves comic books and the idea of aliens, but he has never thought much about them being real. Then, one day, a flying saucer crashes by his family’s farm, and that’s when the strange things begin to happen.

Mylo starts hearing voices, and they sound like someone – or something asking for help. Curious, Mylo, his best friend, and his crush set out to figure just what exactly is going on. However, they are in no way prepared for what they are about to find out.

This book is such a cute, humorous book with so much character and personality. I couldn’t put it down once – I actually sat down and read the whole thing through in a single sitting. I devoured this book!

I love fun books like this. I always feel like they are such a breath of fresh air when you spend a lot of time reading dramatic books, thrillers, or horror novels. They make you smile, laugh, and really appreciate how well a good, lighthearted story can be.

The Truth About Martians has three main characters in its cast, and they are all amazingly well written and offer so much to the story. I think they really bring the book together and bring the story to life.

I have to recommend this book to everyone – it’s fun, it’s exciting, and it’s full of interesting twists that I didn’t even see coming. I really can’t wait until the author releases another book, because I know for a fact that I’ll be all over that one, as well!

Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!


Melissa D. Savage’s first book, The Lost Pony, premiered in her second grade classroom, winning high praise from critics such as her mom. Although the book was hand written and self-illustrated in Crayola Crayons, it was this experience that began her love of writing and to this day she still believes was one of her best works. Melissa continued to create stories growing up, writing different adventures for friends to read and later completed a Master’s Degree in Writing for Children and Young Adults at Hamline University in Minnesota. She was privileged to be able to receive guidance from amazing authors, educators, and fellow writers who shared their wisdom, experience, and support. Most recently, Melissa’s debut book, Lemons has been recognized by the American Booksellers Association on their Independent Booksellers’ debut picks of the season list, Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2017.  Additionally, Bigfoot, Tobin & Me (The UK/Commonwealth version of Lemons published by Chicken House Books) has been recognized as Children’s Book of the Month with WHSmith.

Melissa is a writer and a child and family therapist. She has worked with families struggling with issues of abuse, trauma and loss/bereavement. She believes that expressing oneself through writing can be a very healing process when struggling with difficulties in life.  In addition it can be a vehicle in which to honor, celebrate and continue to share the spirits of the special people who have left us too soon. Melissa lives in Minneapolis with her family. You can follow her on Twitter at @melissadsavage.

Website | Twitter | Facebook |  Goodreads


3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE TRUTH ABOUT MARTIANS, US Only.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/29/2018- BookHounds YA– Review

10/30/2018- YA Books Central– Interview

10/31/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt

11/1/2018- Mythical Books– Excerpt

11/2/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review

Week Two:

11/5/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review

11/6/2018- Good Choice Reading– Excerpt

11/7/2018- Jaime’s World– Excerpt

11/8/2018- Parajunkee– Excerpt

11/9/2018- Two Points of Interest– Review

Tagged , |
This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Giveaways and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Tour: The Truth About Martians by Melissa Savage – Review and Giveaway!

  1. This sounds adorable. I want all the books about Martians! 🙂
    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction recently posted…The Adventurer’s Guide to Successful Escapes by Wade Albert White: A Dual Review with Danielle HammelefMy Profile

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge