Book Tour

The How & The Why

Author: Cynthia Hand

Publication Date: November 5th, 2019

Publisher: HarperTeen

Synopsis: A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

Goodreads   |   Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |   iTunes   |   Bookdepository   |   Kobo   |   Google Books


This book…

I needed so many tissues while I read this. Oh my gosh. This book had me on such an emotional roller coaster that I thought I was going to need to go out and buy a family pack of Kleenex. Sheesh.

I haven’t read too many books by Cynthia Hand, but this one was on my radar since I first heard of it quite some time ago. I love reading books that are realistic, especially ones that deal with really difficult topics. This story, close to the author’s heart, is exactly that, and it’s downright beautiful.

I loved the characters and how their lives wove into the story. I loved the plot, which really stood out in a world full of young adult contemporary. It was just so…refreshing and powerful. It was emotional. It was raw and gripping. It was beautiful.

I feel like I have read quite a few books that deal with adoption as a theme, but after reading this book, I feel like there is definitely room on my shelf for another. The story was written with such intensity that it will find its way into your heart and stay there, long after you turn the last pages.

And don’t get me started with those last pages. Oh my gosh. I wish the story never had to end. I wished it were just a little bit longer. Or a lot longer.

I can’t think of a single thing about this book that I didn’t like. It was written in such a fabulous manner with characters that have such deep and engrossing personalities. They were practically perfect. I felt like I actually knew them.

Definitely pick up this book if you are a fan of the author or YA contemporary.

And don’t forget to bring some tissues. I feel like every copy of this book sold should come with a complimentary packet of tissues…you definitely need them!

Note: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!


Favorite Quotes

“We all wonder who we are, whether we know who gave birth to us or not. We all ask the same questions, right? Who am I? Why am I here? And even if we know the simple answers, the question never goes away. It never gets easier. It never gets solved.

“The universe unfolds as it should.”

“Your genes don’t define you.”

“It’s completely possible to be surrounded by people and still totally alone.”


Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novels THE HOW AND THE WHY and MY CALAMITY JANE (also with Ashton and Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, two cats, one crazy dog, two kids, and mountain of books.

Goodreads   |   Website   |   Twitter   |   Facebook


Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of THE HOW AND THE WHY by Cynthia Hand (US Only)

Starts: 30th October 2019

Ends: 13th November 2019

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Click the button below to be taken to the tour’s page, where you can see the schedule and follow along with the rest of the tour!

Tagged , |
This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Giveaways and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge