Lucky Few CoverLucky Few

Author: Kathryn Ormsbee

Publication Date: June 7th, 2016

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Synopsis: In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.

Some Nifty Book Links:

Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks


About the Author

KathrynOrmsbee

Hello! I am a ginger girl who writes stories. My debut novel, THE WATER AND THE WILD, is a Middle Grade fantasy out now from Chronicle Books, with a sequel to follow in Fall 2016. My YA debut, LUCKY FEW, will be published by Simon & Schuster in Summer 2016. THE HOUSE IN POPLAR WOOD, a standalone MG fantasy, comes out in 2017.

I was born and raised in the Bluegrass State. Then I went off and lived in places across the pond, like England and Spain, where I pretended I was a French ingénue. Just kidding! That only happened once. I also lived in some hotter nooks of the USA, like Austin, TX. Now I’m back in the land of Proper Autumn.

In my wild, early years, I taught English as a Foreign Language, interned with a film society, and did a lot of irresponsible road tripping. My crowning achievement is that the back of my head was in an iPhone commercial, and people actually paid me money for it.

Nowadays, I teach piano lessons, play in a band you’ve never heard of, and run races that I never win. I likes clothes from the 60s, music from the 70s, and movies from the 80s. I am from the 90s.

Are you still reading? Then you are a phenomenal human being and deserve a great big virtual HUG. Thanks for visiting, and enjoy your stay!

xoxo Kathryn

Some Nifty Author Links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Guest Post

10 fictional characters you would invite to a dinner party

If I could have the Fictional Character Dinner Party of my dreams? Let me tell you, there would be an endless supply of crème brûlée. That much is a given. Choosing the guest list is a trickier task, but I’ve managed to draw up what I think is the perfect combo of fictitious ladies and gents. To be clear, this isn’t necessarily a list of characters I would most like to meet, but rather characters who would make dinner the most hilarious, awkward, and entertaining event of the decade. Ready for this? Let’s bring out the seating chart!

LADY CATHERINE DE BOURGH

Because . . . you gotta. It’s Lady Catherine, and she must have her share in the conversation! One of my favorite things about Jane Austen’s books (aside from the dishy Wentworth—hellooo, captain) is her characterization of ridiculous people. And Lady Catherine de Bourgh is a prime example of pomp, circumstance, and absurdity. I am dying to see what her reaction would be to a dinner party like this. My guess is she’ll probably faint during the salad course, so I’ll be sure to have smelling salts on hand.

REMUS LUPIN

Hands down, my favorite Harry Potter character, so he’s going to be seated in a place of honor by my side. We can talk all about some of my favorite topics: England, magic, dementors. . . His invitation does mean scheduling difficulties, as dinner can’t be on the night of a full moon, but the inconvenience is totally worth it.

TYRANNUS BASILTON “BAZ” PITCH

If you’re going to invite a werewolf to dinner, you have to invite a vampire. It’s only fair! THOSE ARE THE RULES OF ETIQUETTE. Anyway, I love this ornery aristocrat and would have a special little chalice of A- at his place setting. And since I know he’s self-conscious about eating, I’ll just have the lights black out mysteriously at random intervals, so he can eat his food when no one’s looking.

INEJ GHAFA

No one is cooler than Inej, and I mean NO ONE. So obviously I’ll want her sitting on my other side. We can talk about her adventures in the Grisha universe and how generally awesome she is and about Kaz Brekker, that dapper little scoundrel. If anyone gets out of line (and it’s bound to happen), she can just fling one of her knives within an inch of their face.

WILLY WONKA

Like Lady Catherine, this is an “OF COURSE” invite. I mean, it’s Willy Freakin’ Wonka, so he’s got dessert covered (including the crème brûlée). I suppose it’s not proper manners to ask a guest to provide approximately 500 pounds of chocolate and cream, but if anyone would be cool with that, it’d be William Archibald Wonka. (I made that up, but it sounds good, right?) Throughout dinner, he can throw out his famous wise adages and witticisms, like “A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.” Too true, Wonka. Too true.

CLAUDIA KISHI

One of my absolute favorite characters growing up and the coolest member of the Babysitter’s Club. She has her own PRIVATE PHONE LINE. Let’s face it, her attire is going to be legendary, and she’s going to make all the rest of us feel like uninspired, unoriginal slobs. Also, I have a feeling she’ll make the contents of her dinner plate look like the coolest decoupage you ever did see.

RONAN LYNCH

Because you need some attitude at the table. Also because Ronan is one of my fave characters of all time. I’m planning on sitting him next to Lady Catherine and watching it all play out like a magnificent Shakespearean masterpiece. And if we’re really lucky, maybe he’ll bring along something cool from one of his dreams. Like a chandelier that shoots off fireworks at the end of every course? Just a thought.

MEG MURRY

No dinner party is complete without a young, awkward, science-loving genius. Meg will be a fount of all manner of interesting conversation topics. We can chat about new scientific findings, as well as her experience with tesseract traveling. Maybe she can even teach us all how to kythe by the end of the meal?

MITCHELL JOHNSON

Fun facts about Mitchell Johnson, MC of Donna Hosie’s brilliant book The Devil’s Intern: 1) He’s dead and in hell, 2) He’s brilliant and hilarious, 3) He’s coming to dinner. I’m just going to pretend I can drag him out of the underworld for this special event, because this guy has so many brilliant stories to tell. Awesome company and our very own memento mori at the table.

HOLLY GOLIGHTLY

No party is a true party without Holly Golightly on the scene! I’m letting Holly choose our music; I’m sure she has impeccable taste. Also, I must insist that she brings Cat (I hope that’s not cheating?). No dinner party is complete without a stray cat walking along the table, occasionally upsetting dishes, showing all of us who’s boss.

Aaand that’s it! The invites are sent, the table is set. Let the feast begin.

Thanks so much for having me on the blog! <3


Giveaway!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Tour: Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee – Guest Post and Giveaway!

  1. Lily M. says:

    Thank you so much for this great opportunity ?? This book sounds very intriguing ?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge