Freshmen

Authors: Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Publication Date: June 12th, 2018

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Synopsis: A laugh-out-loud, realistic portrayal of a freshman year in college for fans of Girls and Broad City.

Getting in is just the beginning.

Phoebe can’t wait to get to college. On her own, discovering new things, no curfew . . . she’ll be free. And she’ll be totally different: cooler, prettier, smarter . . . the perfect potential girlfriend. Convenient: the only person from her high school also going to York is her longtime crush, Luke.

Luke didn’t set out to redefine himself, but as soon as he arrives on campus, he finds himself dumping his long-term long-distance girlfriend. And the changes don’t stop there. In fact, being on a soccer team is the only thing that stays the same.

Just when things start looking up (and Phoebe and Luke start hooking up), drama looms on the horizon. Rumors swirl about the Wall of Shame, a secret text chain run by Luke’s soccer team, filled with compromising photos of girls. As the women on campus determine to expose the team and shut down the account, Luke and Phoebe find themselves grappling with confusing feelings and wondering how they’ll ever make it through freshman year.

Goodreads   |   Buy the Book   |   Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble


I didn’t read A Totally Awkward Love Story, but I was really excited to read Freshmen.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I had a feeling this was going to be a really great book – the synopsis made it sound kind of fun and lighthearted, so I was hoping that was the case – it’s the beginning of summer, after all, and who doesn’t love a little humor and fun in their books to kick off the season right?

Well, if that’s what you’re looking for, you’re kind of in luck – it is fun, but there are a lot of dramatic elements that also make it kind of deep and heartfelt, and I believe that the combination of these overall tones make this book a real treasure.

I love the whole college theme that the book has going on – I always enjoy YA novels that are set in a college environment, because they offer something a little bit different than just high school.  In this book, it picks up during the main characters’ freshmen year of college, where the two of them are the only ones from their high school going to the same college.

The whole crush thing in the book was a lot of fun – Phoebe is not only super excited to be going off to college where a ton of new experiences are waiting for her, but the fact that she has a crush on this guy who will be there with her is also a nice treat.  She is convinced she would make the perfect girlfriend to him, and will try everything she can to make him realize this.

The characters were so well thought out in this book and I think the authors did a really good job bringing them off the pages and really giving them personality.  I especially liked Phoebe, as I thought she was fun and kind of goofy.

Freshmen is a great book for those who are going off to college in the fall or those who are looking for something great to read to put them in the mood for summer!

Note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review – thank you!


INSTAGRAM:

6/11 @novelknight

6/12 @lifeinlit

6/13@meliyoutuber

6/14 @zachsbooks

6/15 @knoxdiver

6/18 @mmfbooks

6/19 @awaytoagreatread

6/20 @elliesinfinitebooks

6/21  @desertbibliophile

6/22 @toallthenerdygirls

6/23 @buttthisbook

6/24 @undeniablyromantic

6/25: @librarycutie

6/26: @readwithmikee

6/27: @andye.readingteen

BLOG TOUR:

6/11       Novel Knight Book Reviews

6/12       Tales of the Ravenous Reader

6/13       The Clockwork Bibliophile

6/14       Selina Falcon

6/15       Mary Had A Little Book Blog

6/18:     The Book Nut

6/19:      Here’s to Happy Endings

6/20       Ellie’s Infinite Books

6/21:     The Desert Bibliophile

6/22:      Jessabella Reads

6/23:     YA Books Central

6/24:      Undeniably Book Nerdy

6/25:     Dana Square

6/26:      Kid Lit Exchange

6/27:     The Book Prophet

6/28:     Library Cutie

Tagged |
This entry was posted in Blog Tour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge