Monthly Archives: October 2019

Book Tour

The Never Tilting World Author: Rin Chupeco Publication: October 15th, 2019 Publisher: Harper Teen Synopsis: Frozen meets Mad Max in this epic teen fantasy duology bursting with star-crossed romance, immortal heroines, and elemental magic, perfect for fans of Furyborn. Generations … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Title:
A Death-Struck Year
Book Author:
Makiia Lucier
Page Count:
288
Publishing Date:
January 5th, 2016
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
September 2nd, 2019
Format:
Paperback
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

For Cleo Berry, the people dying of the Spanish Influenza in cities like New York and Philadelphia may as well be in another country—that's how far away they feel from the safety of Portland, Oregon. And then cases start being reported in the Pacific Northwest. Schools, churches, and theaters shut down. The entire city is thrust into survival mode—and into a panic. Headstrong and foolish, seventeen-year-old Cleo is determined to ride out the pandemic in the comfort of her own home, rather than in her quarantined boarding school dorms. But when the Red Cross pleads for volunteers, she can't ignore the call. As Cleo struggles to navigate the world around her, she is surprised by how much she finds herself caring about near-strangers. Strangers like Edmund, a handsome medical student and war vet. Strangers who could be gone tomorrow. And as the bodies begin to pile up, Cleo can't help but wonder: when will her own luck run out?

Riveting and well-researched, A Death-Struck Year is based on the real-life pandemic considered the most devastating in recorded world history. Readers will be captured by the suspenseful storytelling and the lingering questions of: what would I do for a neighbor? At what risk to myself?

An afterword explains the Spanish flu phenomenon, placing it within the historical context of the early 20th century. Source notes are extensive and interesting.

A Spring 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices selection.

My Review

A Death Struck Year was one of those books that I bought ages ago, but kind of just sat on my shelf and never got read until recently. I’m not always big on historical fiction, and I really have to … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Darkest Part of the Forest
Book Author:
Holly Black
Page Count:
337
Publishing Date:
January 13th, 2015
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
October 15th, 2019
Format:
Kindle Edition
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down, Hazel tries to remember her years pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough?

My Review

I bought this book for my Kindle years ago when it first came out, and I kept putting off reading it (no idea why, honestly). I guess I was never really in the mood for a story of this sort … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Fireborne Author: Rosaria Munda Series: The Aurelian Cycle #1 Publication Date: October 15th, 2019 Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Synopsis: Seraphina meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance… and dragons. … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Scars Like Wings Author: Erin Stewart Publication Date: October 1st, 2109 Publisher: Delacorte Press Formats: Hardcover, ebook, audiobook Pages: 352 Book Links: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD Synopsis: Relatable, heartbreaking, and real, this is a story of resilience–the perfect … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

 By Any Means Necessary Author: Candice Montgomery Publication Date: October 8th, 2019 Publisher: Page Street Kids Synopsis: An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey. On the day … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

The Library of Lost Things Author: Laura Taylor Namey Publication Date: October 8th, 2019 Publisher: Inkyard Press Synopsis: From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
3 Comments
Book Tour

Crier’s War Author: Nina Varela Series: Crier’s War, #1 Publication Date: October 1st, 2019 Publisher: HarperTeen Synopsis: After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Tour

10 Blind Dates Author: Ashley Elston Publication Date: October 1st, 2019 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Formats: Hardcover, ebook, audiobook Pages: 336 Synopsis:  Sophie wants one thing for Christmas-a little freedom from her overprotective parents. So when they decide to spend Christmas in … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment

Even if you still feel your loved one is a long way off from needing long term care and is still living comfortably at home, it doesn’t hurt to know the difference between each type of senior living. With the … Continue reading

4 Comments