Monthly Archives: October 2019

Book Title:
Say Her Name
Book Author:
Juno Dawson
Page Count:
287
Publishing Date:
June 5th, 2014
Publisher:
Hot Key Books
Date Read:
October 29th, 2019
Format:
Paperback
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Roberta 'Bobbie' Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of 'Bloody Mary': say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear... But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror... five days... but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before... A truly spine-chilling yet witty horror from shortlisted 'Queen of Teen' author James Dawson.

My Review

WHY IS THERE NO SEQUEL FOR THIS BOOK? WHY?!? This was one of the coolest YA horror novels I have ever read. It might have even been one of the scariest ones I’ve read (at least in a long time), … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment

Being romantic may not come naturally to you, but luckily, it can be learned with a few pushes in the right direction. Romanticism relies on imagination, deep thought and a great deal of care, yet regardless of what stage you … Continue reading

Leave a comment

For most brides, it is all about the dress. However, the accessories that you choose to wear are just as important, ultimately helping to enhance and embellish your chosen gown. The question is, how do you go above and beyond … Continue reading

Leave a comment
Book Title:
Speak: The Graphic Novel
Book Author:
Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Illustrator:
Emily Carroll
Page Count:
384
Publishing Date:
February 6th, 2018
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Date Read:
October 26th, 2019
Format:
Kindle Edition
Source:
Library

Synopsis

The critically acclaimed, award-winning, modern classic Speak is now a stunning graphic novel.

"Speak up for yourself—we want to know what you have to say."

From the first moment of her freshman year at Merryweather High, Melinda knows this is a big fat lie, part of the nonsense of high school. She is friendless—an outcast—because she busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, so now nobody will talk to her, let alone listen to her. Through her work on an art project, she is finally able to face what really happened that night: She was raped by an upperclassman, a guy who still attends Merryweather and is still a threat to her.

With powerful illustrations by Emily Carroll, Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak: The Graphic Novel comes alive for new audiences and fans of the classic novel.

My Review

I recently read Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson again. When I first read this book, I was completely blown away by how powerful that book was. It was not just emotional, it was raw, it was painful. So when I … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Lifestyles of Gods & Monsters Author: Emily Roberson Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019 Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) Formats: Hardcover, ebook Page Count: 352 Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Ariadne’s whole life is curated and shared with the world. … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Bruce’s Big Storm Author: Ryan T. Higgins Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Formats: Hardcover, ebook Pages: 48 Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD Synopsis: Bruce’s home is already a full house. But when a big storm brings … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment
Book Tour

Beyond the Black Door Author: A.M. Strickland Publication Date: October 29th, 2019 Publisher: Imprint Synopsis: Kamai was warned never to open the black door, but she didn’t listen … Everyone has a soul. Some are beautiful gardens, others are frightening … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment

  As a bookworm, you may consider yourself a unique species. Recluse, introverted, and always looking for the next read – you exhibit behaviors peculiar to your kind. And if you’re a bona fide book aficionado, you’re likely to find … Continue reading

Leave a comment

There is nothing like sitting back and relaxing with an enchanting book. Getting away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and immersing yourself in a book can help to reduce stress levels and broaden the mind. To experience … Continue reading

Leave a comment
Book Tour

Tarnished Are the Stars Author: Rosiee Thor Publication Date: October 15th, 2019 Publisher: Scholastic Press Synopsis: The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron. A secret beats inside … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment