Monthly Archives: April 2019

6 Different Ways To Enjoy Old Age The idea of getting older can be a frightening one for many people. Yet it doesn’t have to be. Getting older can be and should be something to be enjoyed, even cherished. You … Continue reading

1 Comment

A Guide On How To Care For An Elderly Relative At Home Old age is, as they say, a privilege, and we should be grateful for it. Not everyone can achieve this; it is a privilege with several problems associated … Continue reading

Leave a comment

5 Things to Do If You Want Your House to Sell Fast As it is currently a seller’s market, you have a great chance of your house being sold shortly after being listed. In highly desirable areas, homes might only … Continue reading

5 Comments

4 Reasons For Authors To Consider A Blog Tour If you are an author, you might wonder what all the fuss is about when it comes to a blog tour. You’ll have heard of them, of course, and you might … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

I’ve always been an eager, enthusiastic reader. I can thank my parents for nurturing in me a voracious appetite for books. The older I got, it wasn’t unusual for me to be reading 9, 10 or 11 books a year. … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment

The way you feel about yourself can have a direct impact on how well you do in life. For this reason, it’s imperative that you work on self-confidence and ensure that you’re happy and confident in who you are. With … Continue reading

Tagged as
1 Comment
Book Tour
Book Title:
In the Neighborhood of True
Book Author:
Susan Kaplan Carlton
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
April 9th, 2019
Publisher:
Algonquin Young Readers
Date Read:
March 24th, 2019
Format:
eARC
Source:
I received an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis

A powerful story of love, identity, and the price of fitting in or speaking out.

After her father’s death, Ruth Robb and her family transplant themselves in the summer of 1958 from New York City to Atlanta—the land of debutantes, sweet tea, and the Ku Klux Klan. In her new hometown, Ruth quickly figures out she can be Jewish or she can be popular, but she can’t be both. Eager to fit in with the blond girls in the “pastel posse,” Ruth decides to hide her religion. Before she knows it, she is falling for the handsome and charming Davis and sipping Cokes with him and his friends at the all-white, all-Christian Club.

Does it matter that Ruth’s mother makes her attend services at the local synagogue every week? Not as long as nobody outside her family knows the truth. At temple Ruth meets Max, who is serious and intense about the fight for social justice, and now she is caught between two worlds, two religions, and two boys. But when a violent hate crime brings the different parts of Ruth’s life into sharp conflict, she will have to choose between all she’s come to love about her new life and standing up for what she believes.

My Review

In the Neighborhood of True has such a pretty pink cover, and I think that might have been one of the things that drew me to it initially. I’m not sure why, but I think the pretty writing, the flowers, … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

We Rule the Night Author: Claire Eliza Bartlett Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Release Date: April 2nd 2019 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Synopsis: Two girls use forbidden magic to fly and fight–for their country and for themselves–in this … Continue reading

Tagged as
1 Comment
Book Tour

THE CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE Author: Ria Voros Pub. Date: April 2, 2018 Publisher: KCP Loft Formats: Hardcover, eBook Pages: 512 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, TBD Synopsis: Grace Carter’s mother — the celebrity news anchor GG Carter — is everything Grace is not. GG is a star, with … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Title:
The Twisted Tree
Book Author:
Rachel Burge
Page Count:
248
Publishing Date:
January 10th, 2019
Publisher:
Hot Key Books
Date Read:
March 27th, 2019
Format:
Paperback
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

My Review

The Twisted Tree caught my attention when I was browsing Goodreads. It came across as a recommendation because I loved Coraline, and upon reading the synopsis, I instantly decided that I needed to read it. Because it isn’t available on … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments