Monthly Archives: May 2018

Book Title:
All Summer long
Book Author:
Hope Larson
Book Illustrator:
Hope Larson
Publishing Date:
May 1st, 2018
Publisher:
Farrar Straus Giroux
Date Read:
May 16th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written and illustrated by the Eisner Award–winning and New York Times–bestselling Hope Larson.

Thirteen-year-old Bina has a long summer ahead of her. She and her best friend, Austin, usually do everything together, but he's off to soccer camp for a month, and he's been acting kind of weird lately anyway. So it's up to Bina to see how much fun she can have on her own. At first it's a lot of guitar playing, boredom, and bad TV, but things look up when she finds an unlikely companion in Austin's older sister, who enjoys music just as much as Bina. But then Austin comes home from camp, and he's acting even weirder than when he left. How Bina and Austin rise above their growing pains and reestablish their friendship and respect for their differences makes for a touching and funny coming-of-age story.

My Review

Hello, perfect summer read! I’m really loving all of the perfect-for-summer graphic novels that are popping up recently.  They’re really helping me to get into the mindset for summer (which I typically hate, by the way), with lazy days, friendships, … Continue reading

5 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Be Prepared
Book Author:
Vera Brosgol
Book Illustrator:
Vera Brosgol
Publishing Date:
April 24th, 2018
Publisher:
First Second
Date Read:
April 4th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost.

All Vera wants to do is fit in—but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range—Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship.

My Review

Remember a few months back when I reviewed Vera Brosgol’s Anya’s Ghost?  I had so many awesome things to tell you guys about that book, including how freaking awesome it was and how I couldn’t get enough of it.  Well, … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment

Nothing Happened Author: Molly Booth Publication Date: May 15th, 2018 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Formats: Hardcover, ebook Pages: 336 Synopsis: This modern-day retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing takes place at the idyllic Camp Dogberry, where sisters Bee and Hana Leonato … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Tour

Genesis Author: Brendan Reichs Series: Project Nemesis, #2 Publication Date: March 6th, 2018 Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Synopsis: Noah Livingston knows he is destined to survive. The 64 members of Fire Lake’s sophomore class are trapped … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Tour

THE VENERATE ORDER Author: Troy Dukart Pub. Date: February 26, 2018 Publisher: Creativia Formats: Paperback, eBook Pages: 217 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, TBD Synopsis: Strafe Rocknus has suffered hard losses in his life, but now things are looking up for the college graduate. He has a sizzling girlfriend, … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Love Songs & Other Lies Author: Jessica Pennington Publication Date: April 24th, 2018 Publisher: Tor Teen Synopsis: It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget. Two years after rock-song-worthy … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
4 Comments

5 Tips For Creating Your Perfect Home Library With the advancements of technology, libraries and physical copies of books have started to fade into the background. For book lovers this is something which can be upsetting but unfortunately it can … Continue reading

3 Comments