Monthly Archives: July 2017

Book Tour

Of Jenny and the Aliens Author: Ryan Gebhart Publication Date: August 1st, 2017 Publisher: Candlewick Press Synopsis: When boy meets girl meets alien, the angst of first love gets an extraterrestrial intervention in a tale both outrageously funny and full … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Venturess Author: Betsy Cornwell Series: Mechanica, #2 Publication Date: August 1st, 2017 Publisher: Clarion Books Pages: 320 Formats: Hardcover, eBook Synopsis: Young inventor Nicolette Lampton is living her own fairy tale happy ending. She’s free of her horrible step-family, running … Continue reading

5 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Lucky in Love
Book Author:
Kasie West
Page Count:
333
Publishing Date:
July 25th, 2017
Publisher:
Scholastic
Date Read:
July 20th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

In this new contemporary from YA star Kasie West, a girl who wins the lottery learns that money can cause more problems than it solves, especially when love comes into the picture.

Maddie doesn't believe in luck. She's all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment --

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie's life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she's talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun... until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn't sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn't seem aware of Maddie's big news. And, for some reason, she doesn't want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

With tons of humor and heart, Kasie West delivers a million-dollar tale of winning, losing, and falling in love.

My Review

Earlier this year I read my very first Kasie West book, By Your Side.  I fell in love with that book from the very first page, and I instantly knew that I would read anything Kasie West wrote from that … Continue reading

9 Comments
Book Tour

Arabella and the Battle of Venus Author: David D. Levine Series: Adventures of Arabella Ashby, #2 Publication Date: July 18th, 2017 Publisher: Tor Synopsis: The thrilling adventures of Arabella Ashby continue in the second book in Hugo-winning author David D. … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

The Inevitable Collision of Birdie & Bash Author: Candace Ganger Publication Date: July 25th, 2017 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin Synopsis: Candace Ganger captures all the bumps in the road and simmering chemistry of those early days of first love in … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Title:
Marigold Bakes a Cake
Book Author:
Mike Malbrough
Book Illustrator:
Mike Malbrough
Page Count:
40
Publishing Date:
July 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Date Read:
July 10th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. The he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That's not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

My Review

As someone who reads a ton of picture books every year, for a book to really stand out and become an instant favorite, it has to have a wonderful story and illustrations that I can’t get enough of.  Plus, you … Continue reading

4 Comments
Book Tour

Wesley James Ruined My Life Jennifer Honeybourn Published by: Swoon Reads Publication date: July 18th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
10 Comments
Book Title:
Maybe in Paris
Book Author:
Rebecca Christiansen
Page Count:
240
Publishing Date:
June 20th, 2017
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
July 18th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

Keira Braidwood lands in Paris with her autistic brother, Levi, and high hopes. Levi has just survived a suicide attempt and months in the psych ward—he’s ready for a dose of the wider world. Unlike their helicopter mom and the doctors who hover over Levi, Keira doesn’t think Levi’s certifiable. He’s just . . . quirky. Always has been.

Those quirks quickly begin to spoil the trip. Keira wants to traipse all over Europe; Levi barely wants to leave their grubby hotel room. She wants to dine on the world’s cuisine; he only wants fast food. Levi is one giant temper tantrum, and Keira’s ready to pull out her own hair.

She finally finds the adventure she craves in Gable, a hot Scottish bass player, but while Keira flirts in the Paris Catacombs, Levi’s mental health breaks. He disappears from their hotel room and Keira realizes, too late, that her brother is sicker than she was willing to believe. To bring him home safe, Keira must tear down the wall that Levi’s sickness and her own guilt have built between them.

My Review

Maybe in Paris was the kind of book that had a really strong premise, and I expected a lot from it.  As a book that features a character on the Autism spectrum, I really hoped for the best here, because … Continue reading

2.5 stars
1 Comment
Book Tour

Amid Stars and Darkness Chani Lynn Feener Published by: Swoon Reads Publication date: July 18th 2017 Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Delaney’s entire world is thrown into chaos after she is mistaken for Lissa Olena, an alien princess hiding … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
9 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
The Special Ones
Book Author:
Em Bailey
Page Count:
304
Publishing Date:
July 18th, 2017
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
July 9th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

Esther is one of the Special Ones: four young spiritual guides who live in a remote farmhouse under the protection of a mysterious cult leader. He watches them around the clock, ready to punish them if they forget who they are—and all the while, broadcasting their lives to eager followers on the outside. Esther knows that if she stops being Special, he will “renew” her. Nobody knows what happens to the Special Ones who are taken away from the farm for renewal, but Esther fears the worst. Like an actor caught up in an endless play, she must keep up the performance if she wants to survive long enough to escape.

My Review

The Special Ones was one of those really interesting (and incredibly creepy) sounding books that almost completely slipped under the radar for me, but once I heard about it, I knew it was the kind of book that I really … Continue reading

8 Comments