Monthly Archives: June 2016

Book Tour
Book Title:
Autofocus
Book Author:
Lauren Gibaldi
Publishing Date:
June 14th, 2016
Date Read:
June 15th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss

Synopsis

Family.

It’s always been a loaded word for Maude. And when she is given a senior photography assignment—to create a portfolio that shows the meaning of family—she doesn’t quite know where to begin. But she knows one thing: without the story of her birth mother, who died when Maude was born, her project will be incomplete.

So Maude decides to visit her best friend, Treena, at college in Tallahassee, Florida, where Maude’s birth mother once lived. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena has changed. With a new boyfriend and a packed social calendar, Treena doesn’t seem to have time for Maude—or helping Maude in her search.

Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude in her search, she starts to find that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future.

Lauren Gibaldi has crafted a beautiful and timely coming-of-age story that poses the question: Is who we are determined at birth, or can we change as we grow?

My Review

Autofocus is a contemporary that has a lot going on, including emotions.  This isn’t a negative thing at all – in fact, I found it to be quite the engaging read because there wasn’t a dull moment in the entire … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Title:
Tumbling
Book Author:
Caela Carter
Publishing Date:
June 7th, 2016
Publisher:
Viking Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
June 12th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher

Synopsis

Work harder than anyone.

Be the most talented.

Sacrifice everything.

And if you’re lucky, maybe you will go to the Olympics.

Grace lives and breathes gymnastics—but no matter how hard she pushes herself, she can never be perfect enough.

Leigh, Grace’s best friend, has it all: a gymnastics career, a normal high-school life... and a secret that could ruin everything.

Camille wants to please her mom, wants to please her boyfriend, and most of all, wants to walk away.

Wilhelmina was denied her Olympic dream four years ago, and she won’t let anything stop her again. No matter what.

Monica is terrified. Nobody believes in her—and why should they?

By the end of the two days of the U.S. Olympic Gymnastics Trials, some of these girls will be stars. Some will be going home with nothing. And all will have their lives changed forever.

My Review

I’ve always loved gymnastics.  Well, watching gymnastics…you know, at home, in my pajamas, with a milkshake or a slice of pizza. I binge watched Make it or Break it more times than I can count.  In fact, I think I’m … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Change Places with Me Author: Lois Metzger Publication Date: June 14th, 2016 Publisher: Balzer + Bray Synopsis: Rose has changed. She still lives in the same neighborhood with her stepmother and goes to the same high school with the same … Continue reading

3 Comments

Break Me Like a Promise (Once Upon a Crime Family #2) by Tiffany Schmidt Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Release Date: June 7th 2016 Genre: Young Adult, Retellings, Contemporary Rate: 4/5 stars Synopsis: No one is unbreakable. All Magnolia Vickers has ever wanted … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
5 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday Hello everyone!  I wanted to share a book with you that has recently been brought to my attention.  It sounds absolutely amazing, and I can’t wait to read it! Ninth City Burning Author: J. Patrick Black Publication … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Title:
Tone Deaf
Book Author:
Olivia Rivers
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
May 24th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher

Synopsis

His world is music. Her world is silent.

Ali Collins was a child prodigy destined to become one of the greatest musicians of the twenty-first century—until she was diagnosed with a life-changing brain tumor. Now, at seventeen, Ali lives in a soundless world where she gets by with American Sign Language and lip-reading. She’s a constant disappointment to her father, a retired cop fighting his own demons, and the bruises are getting harder to hide.

When Ali accidentally wins a backstage tour with the chart-topping band Tone Deaf, she’s swept back into the world of music. Jace Beckett, the nineteen-year-old lead singer of the band, has a reputation. He’s a jerk and a player, and Ali wants nothing to do with him. But there’s more to Jace than the tabloids let on. When Jace notices Ali’s bruises and offers to help her escape to New York, Ali can’t turn down the chance at freedom and a fresh start. Soon she’s traveling cross-country, hidden away in Jace’s RV as the band finishes their nationwide tour. With the help of Jace, Ali sets out to reboot her life and rediscover the music she once loved.

My Review

Before I begin my review, I just want to make sure everyone knows that this book deals with physical abuse, and it even made me cringe at times.  I know that might be something that can cause issues with some, … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments
Book Tour

Hi everyone! So I’m a little behind, but as some of you know from my posting about it on Twitter, June 1st was my 1 Year Blogiversary! This is so exciting!  I can’t believe that I’ve been blogging for a … Continue reading

16 Comments
Book Title:
Frannie and Tru
Book Author:
Karen Hattrup
Publishing Date:
May 31st, 2016
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Date Read:
May 19th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss

Synopsis

When Frannie Little eavesdrops on her parents fighting she discovers that her cousin Truman is gay, and his parents are so upset they are sending him to live with her family for the summer. At least, that’s what she thinks the story is. . . When he arrives, shy Frannie befriends this older boy, who is everything that she’s not–rich, confident, cynical, sophisticated. Together, they embark on a magical summer marked by slowly unraveling secrets.

My Review

Frannie and Tru is one of those rare books that leaves me at a loss for words when it comes to writing my review.  I did like the book, but at the same time, it isn’t something that left a … Continue reading

3 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
The Way Back to You
Book Author:
Michelle Andreani and Mindi Scott
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
May 23rd, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss

Synopsis

In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous road trip across the Southwest to meet three strangers who received the life-saving organs of their late best friend—charting a journey of loss, hope, and love along the way.

Six months ago, Ashlyn Montiel died in a bike accident.

Her best friend Cloudy is keeping it together, at least on the outside. Cloudy’s insides are a different story: tangled, confused, heartbroken.

Kyle is falling apart, and everyone can tell. Ashlyn was his girlfriend, and when she died, a part of him went with her. Maybe the only part he cares about anymore.

As the two people who loved Ashlyn best, Cloudy and Kyle should be able to lean on each other. But after a terrible mistake last year, they're barely speaking. So when Cloudy discovers that Ashlyn’s organs were donated after her death and the Montiel family has been in touch with three of the recipients, she does something a little bit crazy and a lot of out character: she steals the letters and convinces Kyle to go on a winter break road trip with her, from Oregon to California to Arizona to Nevada. Maybe if they see the recipients—the people whose lives were saved by Ashlyn’s death—the world will open up again. Or maybe it will be a huge mistake.

With hundreds of miles in front of them, a stowaway kitten, and a list of people who are alive because of Ashlyn, Cloudy and Kyle just may find their way to back to her...and to each other.

My Review

I’ve found myself drawn to contemporary novels lately – I’ve been reading a lot of them.  So with all the buzz surrounding this one, there was obviously no way I was going to pass up on reading it. The awesome … Continue reading

4 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
The Inside of Out
Book Author:
Jenn Marie Thorne
Publishing Date:
May 31st, 2016
Publisher:
Dial
Date Read:
June 7th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher

Synopsis

For fans of Stephanie Perkins, Meg Cabot, and Glee comes a hilarious, romantic, whip smart young adult novel about your best friend finding love before you do, and the lines you’ll cross to stay part of her life.

When her best friend Hannah comes out the day before junior year, Daisy is all set to let her ally flag fly. Before you can spell LGBTQIA, she’s leading the charge to end their school’s antiquated ban on same-sex dates at dances—starting with homecoming. And if people assume Daisy herself is gay? Meh, so what. It’s all for Hannah, right? It’s all for the cause. What Daisy doesn’t expect is for “the cause” to blow up—thanks to Adam, the cute college journalist whose interview with Daisy for his college newspaper goes viral, catching fire in the national media. With the story spinning out of control, protesters gathering, Hannah left in the dust of Daisy’s good intentions, and Daisy’s attraction to Adam practically written in lights, Daisy finds herself caught between her bold plans, her bad decisions, and her big fat mouth.

A Clueless or Emma for the modern age, this is a breezy, charming, incisive tale of growing up, getting wise, and realizing every story needs a hero—sometimes it's just not you.

My Review

The first thing that captured my attention with this book was the cover.  It’s really pretty – especially the rainbow colored boards that the three kids are sitting on.  It’s also nifty how the characters on the cover look almost … Continue reading

4.5 stars
1 Comment