Monthly Archives: April 2016

Book Tour

Unforgivable (Invincible #2) Author: Amy Reed Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Release Date: May 3rd 2016 Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Rate: 4 stars Synopsis:   In this raw, gut-wrenching, and beautifully written sequel to Invincible, Marcus continues Evie’s story of their intense romance, … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
6 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Wild Swans
Book Author:
Jessica Spotswood
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
April 25th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher

Synopsis

The summer before Ivy’s senior year is going to be golden; all bonfires, barbeques, and spending time with her best friends. For once, she will just get to be. No summer classes, none of Granddad’s intense expectations to live up to the family name. For generations, the Milbourn women have lead extraordinary lives—and died young and tragically. Granddad calls it a legacy, but Ivy considers it a curse. Why else would her mother have run off and abandoned her as a child?

But when her mother unexpectedly returns home with two young daughters in tow, all of the stories Ivy wove to protect her heart start to unravel. The very people she once trusted now speak in lies. And all of Ivy’s ambition and determination cannot defend her against the secrets of the Milbourn past….

My Review

Wild Swans is a beautifully written contemporary about learning how to find yourself when you’re amid chaos and things that might cause you to lose track of who you are.  It’s such a nicely crafted tale, full of emotions that … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Tour

The Keeper of the Mist Author: Rachel Neumeier Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers Release Date: March 8th 2016 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction Synopsis: A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Title:
Summer of Sloane
Book Author:
Erin L. Schneider
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
Disney-Hyperion
Date Read:
April 24th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis

Warm Hawaiian sun. Lazy beach days. Flirty texts with her boyfriend back in Seattle.

These are the things seventeen-year-old Sloane McIntyre pictured when she imagined the summer she’d be spending at her mom’s home in Hawaii with her twin brother, Penn. Instead, after learning an unthinkable secret about her boyfriend, Tyler, and best friend, Mick, all she has is a fractured hand and a completely shattered heart.

Once she arrives in Honolulu, though, Sloane hopes that Hawaii might just be the escape she needs. With beach bonfires, old friends, exotic food, and the wonders of a waterproof cast, there’s no reason Sloane shouldn’t enjoy her summer. And when she meets Finn McAllister, the handsome son of a hotel magnate who doesn’t always play by the rules, she knows he’s the perfect distraction from everything that’s so wrong back home.

But it turns out a measly ocean isn’t nearly enough to stop all the emails, texts, and voicemails from her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, desperate to explain away their betrayal. And as her casual connection with Finn grows deeper, Sloane’s carefree summer might not be as easy to find as she’d hoped. Weighing years of history with Mick and Tyler against their deception, and the delicate possibility of new love, Sloane must decide when to forgive, and when to live for herself.

My Review

This book is amazing.  I’m going to take a few minutes to talk about this book without spoilers, then if you want to, you can check out the section below where I go a little more in-depth with it. When … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Invincible
Book Author:
Amy Reed
Book Series:
Invincible, #1
Publishing Date:
April 28th, 2015
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
April 16th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher

Synopsis

The Fault in Our Stars meets Go Ask Alice in this dramatic romance about a teenage girl who survives a terminal cancer diagnosis, only to get trapped in the deadly spiral of addiction. Fans of Gayle Forman and Sara Zarr will be swept away by this gritty romance, the first in a duology.

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now she’d be dead. Evie is grateful for every extra day she gets, but she knows that soon this disease will kill her. Until, miraculously, she may have a second chance to live.

All Evie had wanted was her life back, but now that she has it, she feels like there’s no place for her in it—at least, not for the girl she is now. Her friends and her parents still see her as Cancer Girl, and her boyfriend’s constant, doting attention is suddenly nothing short of suffocating.

Then Evie meets Marcus. She knows that he’s trouble, but she can’t help falling for him. Being near him makes her feel truly, fully alive. It’s better than a drug. His kiss makes her feel invincible—but she may be at the beginning of the biggest free fall of her life.

My Review

I’d heard about this book a while back, but for some reason I never picked it up, and then to be completely honest, I had forgotten all about it until I heard about the release of the second book in … Continue reading

5 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Suffer Love
Book Author:
Ashley Herring Blake
Publishing Date:
May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
April 21st, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis

Sam Bennett falls for Hadley St. Clair before he knows her last name. When Sam finds out she is that St. Clair, daughter of the man who destroyed Sam’s family, he has a choice: follow his heart or tell the truth about the scandal that links their families. Funny and passionate, Suffer Love is a story about first love, family dysfunction, and the fickle hand of fate.

My Review

When it comes to contemporary novels, there are some that are good, and then there are those that are so well written and so amazing that you have a hard time finding the words to express how fantastic they really … Continue reading

4.5 stars
3 Comments
Book Tour

Suffer Love Author: Ashley Herring Blake Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers Release Date: May 3rd Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction Synopsis: Hadley St. Clair’s life changed the day she came home to a front door covered in … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
4 Comments
Book Title:
Down with the Shine
Book Author:
Kate Karyus Quinn
Publishing Date:
April 26th, 2016
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Date Read:
April 18th, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss

Synopsis

There's a reason they say "be careful what you wish for." Just ask the girl who wished to be thinner and ended up smaller than Thumbelina, or the boy who asked for "balls of steel" and got them-literally. And never wish for your party to go on forever. Not unless you want your guests to be struck down by debilitating pain if they try to leave.

These are things Lennie only learns when it's too late-after she brings some of her uncles' moonshine to a party and toasts to dozens of wishes, including a big wish of her own: to bring back her best friend, Dylan, who was abducted and murdered six months ago.

Lennie didn't mean to cause so much chaos. She always thought her uncles' moonshine toast was just a tradition. And when they talked about carrying on their "important family legacy," she thought they meant good old-fashioned bootlegging.

As it turns out, they meant granting wishes. And Lennie has just granted more in one night than her uncles would grant in a year.

Now she has to find a way to undo the damage. But once granted, a wish can't be unmade...

My Review

I read the synopsis for this book, and thought it was going to be another awesome YA contemporary from HarperTeen, but after I had read a quarter of the way through the book, I realized how wrong I was.  This … Continue reading

4.5 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
Away We Go
Book Author:
Emil Ostrovski
Publishing Date:
April 5th, 2016
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Date Read:
March 31st, 2016
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss

Synopsis

Westing is not your typical school. For starters, you have to have one very important quality in order to be admitted—you have to be dying. Every student at Westing has been diagnosed with PPV, or the Peter Pan Virus. No one is expected to live to graduation.

What do you do when you go to a school where no one has a future? Noah Falls, his girlfriend Alice, and his best friend Marty spend their time drinking, making out, and playing video games on awaywego.com. But when an older boy named Zach (who Noah may or may not be in love with) invites Noah and Marty to join his secret Polo Club, the lives of both boys change as they struggle to find meaning in their shortened existence.

With an innovative format that includes interstitial documents, such as flyers, postcards, and handwritten notes, Away We Go is a funny, honest look at first love and tragic heartbreak.

My Review

I was originally drawn to this book due to the synopsis – it sounded a lot like the kind of book I’d absolutely love (kind of a dystopian/contemporary combo, with some realistic elements thrown in that kind of remind me … Continue reading

3 stars
2 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Lady Renegades
Book Author:
Rachel Hawkins
Book Series:
Rebel Belle, #3
Publishing Date:
April 5th, 2016
Publisher:
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
April 19th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of Hex Hall comes the sparkling finale in the beloved Rebel Belle series.

Just as Harper Price starts coming to terms with her role as David Stark's battle-ready Paladin, protector, and girlfriend — her world goes crazy all over again.

Overwhelmed by his Oracle powers, David flees Pine Grove and starts turning teenaged girls into Paladins — and these young ladies seem to think that Harper is the enemy David needs protecting from. Ordinarily, Harper would be able to fight off any Paladin who comes her way, but her powers have been dwindling since David left town, which means her life is on the line yet again.

Now, it’s a desperate race for Harper to find and rescue David before she backslides from superhero to your garden-variety type-A belle.

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings the fun once again in the finale of this pitch-perfect romantic paranormal comedy series.

My Review

After first falling in love with Rebel Belle and continuing being a fan of this fantastic series through Miss Mayhem, I was so excited to dive into the final book in the Rebel Belle trilogy – Lady Renegades.  Lady Renegades … Continue reading

4.5 stars
12 Comments