Monthly Archives: March 2016

Book Title:
Liars And Losers Like Us
Book Author:
Ami Allen-Vath
Publishing Date:
March 22nd, 2016
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
March 19th, 2016

Synopsis

Keep calm and make it to prom night—without a legit panic attack.

For seventeen-year-old Bree Hughes, it’s easier said than done when gossip, grief, and the opportunity to fail at love are practically high-fiving her in the hallways of Belmont High.

When Bree’s crush, Sean Mills, gives her his phone number, she can’t even leave a voicemail without sounding like a freak. Then she’s asked to be on Prom Court because Maisey Morgan, the school outcast nominated as a joke, declined. She apologizes to Maisey, but it’s too late. After years of torment and an ugly secret shared with their class’s cruel Pageant Queen, Maisey commits suicide. Bree is left with a lot of regret…and a revealing letter with a final request.

With Sean by her side, Bree navigates through her guilt, her parents’ divorce, and all the Prom Court drama. But when a cheating-love-triangle secret hits the fan after a night of sex, drinks, and video games, she’s left with new information about Sean and the class Pageant Queen. Bree must now speak up or stay silent. If she lets fear be her guide, she’ll lose her first love, and head to prom to avenge the death of the school outcast—as a party of one.

My Review

This was another super hyped YA release that I was really looking forward to, and when I got the chance to read it, I was really excited.  I more or less jumped into this the day I received it, but … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

How to Get Your Heart Broken Author: Rose Fall Release Date: March 21st, 2016 Summary: A self-proclaimed cynic, Eli is unsurprised by her boyfriend’s betrayal. Yet,its impact goes beyond what she realizes; a cruel bet, an array of secrets, and … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Title:
A Tyranny of Petticoats
Book Author:
Edited by Jessica Spotswood
Publishing Date:
March 8th, 2016
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Date Read:
March 17th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat anthology of historical fiction and fantasy featuring a diverse array of daring heroines.

Criss-cross America — on dogsleds and ships, stagecoaches and trains — from pirate ships off the coast of the Carolinas to the peace, love, and protests of 1960s Chicago. Join fifteen of today’s most talented writers of young adult literature on a thrill ride through history with American girls charting their own course. They are monsters and mediums, bodyguards and barkeeps, screenwriters and schoolteachers, heiresses and hobos. They're making their own way in often-hostile lands, using every weapon in their arsenals, facing down murderers and marriage proposals. And they all have a story to tell.

With stories by:

J. Anderson Coats, Andrea Cremer, Y. S. Lee, Katherine Longshore, Marie Lu, Kekla Magoon, Marissa Meyer, Saundra Mitchell, Beth Revis, Caroline Richmond, Lindsay Smith, Jessica Spotswood, Robin Talley, Leslye Walton and Elizabeth Wein

My Review

I don’t read a lot of anthologies or short stories, but when I came across this book a few months ago, I was super excited to read it.  I waited patiently (okay, so rather impatiently, actually), and thanks to the … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments
Book Title:
The Serpent King
Book Author:
Jeff Zentner
Publishing Date:
March 8th, 2016
Publisher:
Crown Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
March 14th, 2016

Synopsis

Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace.

He and his fellow outcast friends must try to make it through their senior year of high school without letting the small-town culture destroy their creative spirits and sense of self. Graduation will lead to new beginnings for Lydia, whose edgy fashion blog is her ticket out of their rural Tennessee town. And Travis is content where he is thanks to his obsession with an epic book series and the fangirl turning his reality into real-life fantasy.

Their diverging paths could mean the end of their friendship. But not before Dill confronts his dark legacy to attempt to find a way into the light of a future worth living.

My Review

The Serpent King deserves way more than five stars.  This book is YA perfection – I seriously wish you luck trying to find a more well written YA contemporary than this one, because I really don’t think it’s out there.  … Continue reading

5 stars
5 Comments
Book Title:
Harmony House
Book Author:
Nic Sheff
Publishing Date:
March 22nd, 2016
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Date Read:
March 11th, 2016

Synopsis

Carrie meets American Horror Story meets The Shining in this terrifying YA horror novel from the author of Tweak and Schizo.

Something’s not right in Beach Haven.

Jen Noonan’s father thinks a move to Harmony House is the key to salvation, but to everyone who has lived there before, it is a portal to pure horror.

After her alcoholic mother’s death, Jen’s father cracked. He dragged Jen to a dilapidated old manor on the shore of New Jersey to start their new lives—but Jen can tell that the place has an unhappy history. She can feel it the same way she can feel her anger flowing out of her, affecting the world in strange ways she can’t explain.

But Harmony House is more than just a creepy old estate. It’s got a chilling past—and the more Jen discovers its secrets, the more the house awakens. Visions of a strange boy who lived in the house long ago follow Jen wherever she goes, and her father’s already-fragile sanity disintegrates before her eyes. As the forces in the house join together to terrorize Jen, she must find a way to escape the past she didn’t know was haunting her—and the mysterious and terrible power she didn’t realize she had.

My Review

Harmony House was one of those books that I was so excited for that it felt like torture to wait for after I had heard about it.  There just never seems to be enough good YA horror novels out for … Continue reading

3 stars
Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Tour

The Keeper of the Mist Author: Rachel Neumeier Publication Date: March 8th, 2016 Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers Synopsis: A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone. … Continue reading

Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
Seven Ways We Lie
Book Author:
Riley Redgate
Publishing Date:
March 8th, 2016
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Date Read:
March 3rd, 2016

Synopsis

Paloma High School is ordinary by anyone’s standards. It’s got the same cliques, the same prejudices, the same suspect cafeteria food. And like every high school, every student has something to hide—whether it’s Kat, the thespian who conceals her trust issues onstage; or Valentine, the neurotic genius who’s planted the seed of a school scandal.

When that scandal bubbles over, and rumors of a teacher-student affair surface, everyone starts hunting for someone to blame. For the unlikely allies at the heart of it all, the collision of their seven ordinary-seeming lives results in extraordinary change.

My Review

This review took me forever to write.  I think it’s probably because of how I felt about it – I was kind of “meh.”  I didn’t LOVE it, but I didn’t really dislike it, either. After seeing all the amazing … Continue reading

3 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Beyond the Red
Book Author:
Ava Jae
Publishing Date:
March 1st, 2016
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
March 7th, 2016

Synopsis

Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. She’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take the throne. Despite assassination attempts, a mounting uprising of nomadic human rebels, and pressure to find a mate to help her rule, she’s determined to protect her people from her brother’s would-be tyrannical rule.

Eros is a rebel soldier hated by aliens and human alike for being a half-blood. Yet that doesn’t stop him from defending his people, at least until Kora’s soldiers raze his camp and take him captive. He’s given an ultimatum: be an enslaved bodyguard to Kora, or be executed for his true identity—a secret kept even from him.

When Kora and Eros are framed for the attempted assassination of her betrothed, they flee. Their only chance of survival is to turn themselves in to the high court, where revealing Eros’s secret could mean a swift public execution. But when they uncover a violent plot to end the human insurgency, they must find a way to work together to prevent genocide.

My Review

I really love science fiction and fantasy, but for some reason, I find myself not reading enough of it.  So when I heard about this book, I was more or less through the roof about reading it, because I had … Continue reading

4 stars
8 Comments
Book Title:
Love Me, Love Me Not
Book Author:
Alyxandra Harvey
Publishing Date:
February 22nd, 2016
Publisher:
Entangled Teen
Date Read:
March 1st, 2016

Synopsis

Dating isn’t easy when you’re in the middle of a blood feud.

Anastasia Vila’s family can turn into swans, but just once she’d like them to turn into responsible adults.

After hundreds of years, they still cling to the blood feud with the Renard family. No one remembers how it started in the first place—but foxes and swans just don’t get along.

Vilas can only transform into their swan shape after they have fallen in love for the first time, but between balancing schoolwork, family obligations, and the escalating blood feud, Ana’s got no time for love. The only thing keeping her sane is her best friend, Pierce Kent.

But when Pierce kisses Ana, everything changes.

Is what Pierce feels for her real, or a byproduct of her magic? Can she risk everything for her best friend? And when the family feud spirals out of control, Ana must stop the fight before it takes away everything she loves. Including, maybe...Pierce.

This Entangled Teen Crave book contains language, violence, and lots of kissing. Warning: it might induce strong feelings of undeniable attraction for your best friend.

My Review

Let me begin this by saying that I really hate writing negative reviews.  I mean, I always feel kind of bad about it, but I also don’t want to lie, so here we are. I had such high hopes for … Continue reading

2 stars
Leave a comment

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. 100 Days of Cake Author: Shari Goldhagen Publication Date: May 17th, 2016 Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers … Continue reading

2 Comments