Monthly Archives: January 2016

Book Tour

The Year We Fell Apart Author: Emily Martin Publication Date: January 26th, 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary: In the tradition of Sarah Dessen, this powerful debut novel is a compelling portrait of a young girl coping with her mother’s cancer … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
4 Comments
Book Title:
Sanctuary Bay
Book Author:
Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz
Publishing Date:
January 19th, 2016
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Date Read:
January 19th, 2016

Synopsis

When Sarah Merson receives the opportunity of a lifetime to attend the most elite prep school in the country—Sanctuary Bay Academy—it seems almost too good to be true. But, after years of bouncing from foster home to foster home and struggling with the memory of her parent’s murder, escaping to the school’s tranquil setting, nestled deep in Swans Island, couldn't sound more appealing. Swiftly thrown into a world of privilege and secrets, Sarah quickly realizes finding herself noticed by class charmer, Nate, as well as her roommate's dangerously attentive boyfriend, Ethan, are the least of her worries. When her roommate suddenly goes missing, she finds herself in a race against time

My Review

A good thriller can be hard to come by, especially young adult thrillers.  It just seems to be difficult to come across a carefully crafted, truly gripping novel that will pull you in and keep you reading until the end.  … Continue reading

4.5 stars
3 Comments
Book Title:
Shallow Graves
Book Author:
Kali Wallace
Publishing Date:
January 26th, 2016
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Date Read:
January 19th, 2016

Synopsis

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

My Review

Shallow Graves is an interesting little book about a girl who wakes up in a grave eighteen inches under the ground, a few houses down from her own house.  She has been dead for a year, but doesn’t know this … Continue reading

3.5 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Shallow Graves Author: Kali Wallace Publication Date: January 26th, 2016 Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books Summary from Goodreads: For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Title:
Once Upon a Kiss
Book Author:
Robin Palmer
Publishing Date:
January 5th, 2016
Publisher:
Speak
Date Read:
December 29th, 2015

Synopsis

So much has happened since 1986, and Zoe Brenner is about to find out just how much.

From the author of the book that inspired the Disney original movie Geek Charming!

It's 1986 and sixteen-year-old Zoe Brenner's world revolves around Depeche Mode, Judd Nelson, exercise-obsessed parents, and her best friend Jonah. Then one day, in a freak Fun-Dip choking accident, Zoe falls unconscious, and awakes in the year 2016. So much has changed, and Zoe needs Jonah to help her make sense of it all. But in this life, Zoe is the most popular girl in school, and she soon realizes this Zoe doesn't associate with nerds like Jonah. As Zoe juggles new technology, attempts to hide her enthusiasm for poet blouses, and manages to keep her super jock boyfriend at bay, she tries to rekindle her friendship with Jonah and use her popularity for a good cause. Will she ever get back to 1986? And more importantly, does she want to?

My Review

When I started reading this book, I was feeling a little down and was hoping for a story that really light and fun, something that would make me smile.  This definitely did the trick.  I practically devoured this book in … Continue reading

4.5 stars
Tagged as ,
4 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. Love & Gelato Author: Jenna Evans Welch Publication Date: April 12th, 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary from Goodreads: … Continue reading

Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Memory of Light
Book Author:
Francisco X. Stork
Publishing Date:
January 26th, 2016
Publisher:
Arthur A. Levine Books
Date Read:
January 17th, 2016

Synopsis

When Vicky Cruz wakes up in the Lakeview Hospital Mental Disorders ward, she knows one thing: She can’t even commit suicide right. But for once, a mistake works out well for her, as she meets Mona, the live wire; Gabriel, the saint; E.M., always angry; and Dr. Desai, a quiet force. With stories and honesty, kindness and hard work, they push her to reconsider her life before Lakeview, and offer her an acceptance she’s never had.

But Vicky’s newfound peace is as fragile as the roses that grow around the hospital. And when a crisis forces the group to split up, sending her back to the life that drove her to suicide, Vicky must try to find the strength to carry on. She may not have it. She doesn’t know.

Inspired in part by the author’s own experience with depression, The Memory of Light is the rare young adult novel that focuses not on the events leading up to a suicide attempt, but the recovery from one — about living when life doesn’t seem worth it, and how we go on anyway.

My Review

There are a plenty of young adult novels dealing with depression, mental illness, and suicide already on the shelves, but many of those books deal with the events leading up to and surrounding the depression and suicide attempts, and then … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

The Memory of Light Author: Francisco X. Stork Publication Date: January 26th, 2016 Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books Pages: 336 Formats: Hardcover, e-book, audiobook Summary: When Vicky Cruz wakes up in the Lakeview Hospital Mental Disorders ward, she knows one … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Title:
Coloring Dream Mandalas
Book Author:
Wendy Piersall
Publishing Date:
July 21st, 2015
Publisher:
Ulysses Press

Synopsis

RELAX AND DE-STRESS FROM YOUR BUSY LIFE BY COLORING THIS COLLECTION OF WHIMSICAL MANDALAS THAT INCORPORATE MYSTICAL IMAGERY INTO THE PATTERNS

Relax, focus, reach a higher state of mindfulness and simply enjoy yourself as you artfully turn the intricate shapes in this book into stunning works of art. Coloring Dream Mandalas offers you an imaginative array of inspiring quotes and beautiful images, including:

•Dragons

•Dream catchers

•Fairies

•Stars and Moons

•Angels

•Birds

•Sacred Symbols

•Castles

My Review

Coloring Dream Mandalas by Wendy Piersall is a wonderful little coloring book filled with an assortment of illustrations that have plenty of variety and originality.  The images found within the pages of this book are of high quality, and you … Continue reading

4.5 stars
Tagged as
Leave a comment
Book Title:
The Heir and the Spare
Book Author:
Emily Albright
Publishing Date:
January 18th, 2016
Publisher:
Merit Press
Date Read:
January 12th, 2016

Synopsis

Going all the way to England for college--to Oxford, no less--for college would be exciting enough. But no sooner does Evie set foot on English soil than she falls for a boy who turns out to be a real prince--in fact, second in line to the throne of England. Edmund is wonderful, even though loving him can be a royal pain, from the demands of his family to the stuck-up aristocrat who thinks she should be the one to win Edmund's heart. All that is swept aside, however, when the riddle of Evie's past surfaces, and the new couple becomes obsessed with figuring out who the real Evie is, with the growing suspicion that the truth will be a shocker.

My Review

The Heir and the Spare is a sweet, witty romance book that is absolutely swoon-worthy and enjoyable to read.  It’s light-hearted and fun, and successfully pulls you into the story so that you feel like royalty, too. The Heir and … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments