Monthly Archives: July 2015

July I’m having a really hard time believing that the end of July is here already.  I thought that I would make a list of all of July’s reviews here, in case you missed any! Just click on the book … Continue reading

Tagged as
2 Comments

Wednesday again?  That was fast. I really have no trouble coming up with new books to talk about for Waiting on Wednesday.  There are just so many great books coming up, and it’s always fun to see what other people … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Title:
A Million Miles Away
Book Author:
Lara Avery
Publishing Date:
July 7, 2015
Publisher:
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Date Read:
July 21, 2015

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

My Review

This book was so hard to write a review for. Part of me hates the fact that I liked this book. It reminded me of another one of those books about teenagers doing stupid things and not having to suffer … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as ,
2 Comments
Book Title:
The Messengers
Book Author:
Edward Hogan
Publishing Date:
May 12, 2015
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Date Read:
July 24, 2015

Synopsis

If you could see the future, would you have the guts to change it? A new psychological thriller from the author of Daylight Saving.

Fifteen-year-old Frances is sent to her aunt’s house for the summer to escape difficulties at home. Soon she meets Peter, a man unlike anyone she has ever known. Peter is a messenger—but his messages never bring good news. Peter believes that Frances is a messenger, too. In a compelling page-turner as complex as it is chilling, the author of Daylight Saving poses the provocative question: If you could change the future, where would you start?

My Review

Let me start by saying that this is one of those books in which the blurb does no justice. I read the synopsis on this book a few times, and while it sounded great, it really could have been better … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as ,
Leave a comment

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment

  I’ve got an awesome giveaway for you today! I have a copy of Rebel Mechanics: All is Fair in Love and Revolution, by Shanna Swendon, up for grabs! The giveaway will run from July 25th to August 25th, and … Continue reading

Tagged as
9 Comments
Book Title:
Paperweight
Book Author:
Meg Haston
Publishing Date:
July 7, 2015
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Date Read:
July 15, 2015

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert. Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at mealtime, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid. Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn't plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she too will end her life. In this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut, Meg Haston delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss, while posing the question: Why are some consumed by their illness while others embark on a path toward recovery?

My Review

It took me a while to figure out what kinds of things to say about this book.  It was one of those books that I wasn’t sure if I was going to like, but by the end, I found it … Continue reading

4 stars
1 Comment

There are so many awesome upcoming book releases that I’m having a hard time deciding which ones I’m most looking forward to. But, I’m a sucker for fairy tale re-tellings, and another book I’m really looking forward to is Dead … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Tour

I’ve been selected to participate in a blog tour for The Beginning of Never (The Never Trilogy), by O.E. Boroni! The Beginning of Never (The Never Trilogy, #1) By O. E. Boroni Release Date: April 26th, 2015 Waves Corporation 326 … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
Leave a comment
Book Title:
All We Have is Now
Book Author:
Lisa Schroeder
Publishing Date:
July 28, 2015
Publisher:
Scholastic
Date Read:
July 19, 2015

Synopsis

What do you do with your last day on earth? Just over twenty-four hours are left until an asteroid strikes North America, and for Emerson and everyone else who didn't leave, the world will end. But Emerson's world already ended when she ran away from home. Since then, she has lived on the streets, relying on her wits and on her friend Vince to help her find places to sleep and food to eat. The city's quieter now that most people are gone, and no one seems to know what to do as the end approaches. But then Emerson and Vince meet Carl, who tells them he has been granting people's wishes -- and gives them his wallet full of money. Suddenly, this last day seems full of possibility. Emerson and Vince can grant a lot of wishes in one last day -- maybe even their own.

My Review

All We Have is Now by Lisa Schroeder is one of those books that I felt I absolutely needed to read.  The premise sounded absolutely amazing – a young adult novel about making the most out of the small amount … Continue reading

5 stars
4 Comments