Book Tour
pusheen-coloring-book
Book Title:
Pusheen Coloring Book
Book Author:
Claire Belton
Publishing Date:
October 25th, 2016
Publisher:
Touchstone
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Pusheen returns in a delightful coloring book perfect for fans of I Am Pusheen the Cat.

The Internet’s favorite chubby, tubby tabby is back in a purr-fectly cute coloring book featuring adorable kitty drawings that will charm cat lovers and coloring book fans everywhere!

My Review

I love cute things…and I’ll admit it, looking at Pusheen related things always makes me happy, no matter what kind of day I’m having.  So when I saw that there was a Pusheen coloring book, I kind of went nuts…I … Continue reading

5 stars
Tagged as
2 Comments
Book Tour

Lock & Mori: Mind Games Series: Lock & Mori, # 2 Author: Heather W. Petty Publication Date: December 6th, 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Synopsis: Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
7 Comments
be-light-like-a-bird
Book Title:
Be Light Like a Bird
Book Author:
Monika Schröder
Publishing Date:
September 1st, 2016
Publisher:
Capstone Young Readers
Date Read:
November 18th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

After the death of her father, twelve-year-old Wren finds her life thrown into upheaval. And when her mother decides to pack up the car and forces Wren to leave the only home she's ever known, the family grows even more fractured. As she and her mother struggle to build a new life, Wren must confront issues with the environment, peer pressure, bullying, and most of all, the difficulty of forgiving those who don't deserve it. A quirky, emotional middle grade novel set in Michigans Upper Peninsula, Be Light Like a Bird features well-drawn, unconventional characters and explores what it means to be a family and the secrets and lies that can tear one apart.

My Review

Be Light Like a Bird was a relatively quick read for me, in that I finished the book in less than a day thanks to the quick chapters and the immersive story line.  This heart wrenching middle grade novel explores … Continue reading

4 stars
Tagged as
3 Comments
frozen-charlotte
Book Title:
Frozen Charlotte
Book Author:
Alex Bell
Book Series:
Red Eye
Publishing Date:
November 29th, 2016
Publisher:
Scholastic
Date Read:
November 19th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

An instantly gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller filled with haunted dolls, creepy settings, and horrific twists.

When fifteen-year-old Sophie's best friend dies abruptly under mysterious circumstances, Sophie sets off to stay with her uncle and cousins on the remote Isle of Skye. It's been years since she last saw her cousins -- brooding Cameron with his scarred hand; Piper, who seems too perfect to be real; and peculiar little Lilias with her fear of bones.

Sophie knows that in her uncle's house, there are rules she must follow: Make no mention of Cameron's accident. Never leave the front gate unlocked. Above all, don't speak of the girl who's no longer there, the sister whose room lies empty of all but the strange antique dolls she left behind.

As Sophie begins to explore the old house, a former academy for girls shut down long ago, she discovers unsettling secrets that shed light on a dark and dangerous history. But there are some secrets Sophie never expected to uncover. Secrets about her own family. Secrets that suggest Sophie may be in more danger than she could have ever imagined.

My Review

Horror is such a fun genre that is perfect  for reading all year – not just during the Halloween season!  Frozen Charlotte is a great horror read that would be perfect for reading at any time of the year, and … Continue reading

5 stars
2 Comments
dead-girls-society
Book Title:
Dead Girls Society
Book Author:
Michelle Krys
Publishing Date:
November 8th, 2016
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Date Read:
November 16th, 2016
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

My Review

I’m not sure what drove me to want to read this book so badly…maybe it was the nifty cover or the clever title…or even that amazing sounding plot.  Either way, I was super excited to dive into this one. Dead … Continue reading

4 stars
13 Comments
all-in-pieces
Book Title:
All in Pieces
Book Author:
Suzanne Young
Publishing Date:
November 8th, 2015
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Date Read:
November 7th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

From New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young comes a heartrending new novel about a girl struggling to deal with anger issues while taking care of her younger brother with special needs.

“Anger-management issues.”

That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center.

The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far more bleak. Savvy’s struggling to take care of her brother since her mom left years ago, and her alcoholic dad can’t be bothered. Life with Evan is a constant challenge, but he’s also the most important person in the world to Savvy.

Then there’s Cameron, a new student at Brooks with issues of his own; a guy from a perfect family that Savvy thought only existed on TV. Cameron seems determined to break through every one of the walls Savvy’s built around herself, except if she lets herself trust him, it could make everything she’s worked so hard for fall apart in an instant.

And with her aunt seeking custody of her brother and her ex-boyfriend seeking revenge, Savvy’s fighting to hold all the pieces together. But she’s not sure how much tighter she can be pulled before she breaks completely.

My Review

Suzanne Young is one of those authors that I will read pretty much any books she writes – she has a way to create amazing stories that not only pull you and make you forget everything else going on around … Continue reading

5 stars
5 Comments
the-snow-queen
Book Title:
The Snow Queen: A Tale in Seven Stories
Book Author:
Hans Christian Andersen, Illustrated by Sanna Annukka
Publishing Date:
October 4th, 2016
Publisher:
Ten Speed Press
Date Read:
October 31st, 2016
Source:
Blogging for Books program

Synopsis

Gorgeously packaged with intricate illustrations from Finnish illustrator, Sanna Annukka, this new edition of Hans Christian Andersen's well-loved fairy tale, The Snow Queen, is the perfect holiday gift for adults and children alike.

Hans Christian Andersen's magical tale of friendship and adventure is retold through the beautiful and intricate illustrations of Finnish illustrator Sanna Annukka. Cloth-bound in deep blue, with silver foil embellishments, The Snow Queen is elevated from a children's book to a unique work of art. It is an ideal gift for people of all ages.

My Review

I’ve always loved fairy tales, although there are quite a few that I have yet to read.  The Snow Queen is an example of one such fairy tale – I have heard a lot of interesting things about it, and … Continue reading

3 stars
Tagged as ,
4 Comments
the-haunted-house-project
Book Title:
The Haunted House Project
Book Author:
Tricia Clasen
Publishing Date:
October 11th, 2016
Publisher:
Sky Pony Press
Date Read:
November 13th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Since her mom died, Andie’s family has crumbled. Instead of working, her dad gambles away insurance money, while her sister, Paige, has put her future on hold in order to pick up extra waitressing shifts. Andie’s afraid of what will happen if people find out just how bad things are. She’s not sure how long she can hide the fact that there’s no food or money in the house...or adults, for that matter.

When her science partner suggests they study paranormal activity, Andie gets an idea. She wants a sign from her mom—anything to tell her it’s going to be okay. Maybe the rest of her family does too. So she starts a project of her own. Pretending to be her mother’s ghost, Andie sprays perfume, changes TV channels, and moves pictures. Haunting her house is Andie’s last hope to bring her family back into the land of the living.

For anyone who loved Counting by 7s, The Haunted House Project is a journey through loss and grief, but ultimately a story of hope and self-reliance. As much as Andie has been changed by her mother’s death, the changes she makes herself are the ones that are most important.

My Review

I am a true sucker for middle grade books.  Not only are they really great reads, but they are full of raw emotion that creates these heavy stories that are written with real heart and feelings, that sometimes can’t quite … Continue reading

5 stars
Tagged as
2 Comments
unnatural-deeds
Book Title:
Unnatural Deeds
Book Author:
Cyn Balog
Publishing Date:
November 1st, 2016
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
November 10th, 2016
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Secrets. Obsession. Murder. Victoria is about to discover just how dangerous it can be to lose yourself.

Victoria Zell doesn’t fit in, but she’s okay with that. All she needs is the company of her equally oddball boyfriend, Andrew. She doesn’t care what anyone else thinks…until magnetic, charming, mysterious Z comes into her life, and she starts lying to everyone she knows in an effort to unravel his secrets.

And then something terrible happens. Someone is dead and it’s time for Victoria to come clean. Interspersed with news clippings and police interviews, Victoria tells her story to Andrew, revealing her dark, horrible secrets…secrets that have finally come back to haunt her.

My Review

I think what originally drew me to Unnatural Deeds was that somewhat creepy cover that just screamed “thriller alert!” when I looked at it.  The rusty scissors, the creepy black and green background and writing for the title, and of … Continue reading

4 stars
4 Comments
Book Tour

Double Eclipse Author: Melissa de la Cruz Series: Summers on East End, #2 Publication Date: November 8th, 2016 Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Synopsis: The sultry sequel to Triple Moon from #1 New York Times bestselling author … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments