Book Tour
Book Title:
Spill Zone: The Broken Vow
Book Author:
Scott Westerfeld
Book Illustrator:
Alex Puvilland
Book Series:
Spillzone, #2
Page Count:
240
Publishing Date:
July 10th, 2018
Publisher:
First Second
Date Read:
July 10th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

All hell breaks loose in the second volume of New York Times–bestselling author Scott Westerfeld's visionary graphic novel duology.

Three years ago an event destroyed the small city of Poughkeepsie, forever changing reality within its borders. Strange manifestations and lethal dangers now await anyone who enters the Spill Zone. Addison got close enough to the Spill Zone to touch it, literally. She survived the encounter, but came back changed.

It turns out she's not alone. North Korea has its own Spill Zone, and a young man named Don Jae is the only one who made it out alive. Alive, but changed. Now Addison, Don Jae, and, curiously, a rag doll named Vespertine, share an unholy bond and uncanny powers.

From Scott Westerfeld, the inspired imagination behind the New York Times bestsellers Uglies and Leviathan, comes The Broken Vow, the second volume of our highly anticipated new graphic novel series.

My Review

Last year I read and reviewed the first book in this amazingly fun duolog, Spill Zone.  It was one of the first graphic novels that I had really gotten into, and truth be told, it sparked my obsession with graphic … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment

Gone are the days when people’s idea of wedding décor went as far as putting up tents and colorful ribbons. Today, décor has been revolutionized to include more dynamic and versatile options. Planning a wedding comes with a lot of … Continue reading

2 Comments
Book Title:
The Boy, the Boat, and the Beast
Book Author:
Samantha M. Clark
Page Count:
256
Publishing Date:
June 26th, 2018
Publisher:
Simon Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Date Read:
July 5th, 2018
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!

Synopsis

The Graveyard Book meets Hatchet in this eerie novel about a boy who is stranded on a mysterious beach, from debut author Samantha M. Clark.

A boy washes up on a mysterious, seemingly uninhabited beach. Who is he? How did he get there? The boy can’t remember. When he sees a light shining over the foreboding wall of trees that surrounds the shore, he decides to follow it, in the hopes that it will lead him to answers. The boy’s journey is a struggle for survival and a search for the truth—a terrifying truth that once uncovered, will force him to face his greatest fear of all if he is to go home.

This gripping adventure will have readers hooked until its jaw-dropping and moving conclusion. Samantha M. Clark’s first novel heralds the arrival of an exciting new voice.

My Review

The Boy, the Boat, and the Beast has a premise that sounded incredibly unique and interesting to me, and I knew as soon as I saw that stunning cover and read the synopsis that I was going to have to … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Nyxia Unleashed Author: Scott Reintgen Pub. Date: July 17, 2018 Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages: 400 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Audible, B&N, iBooks, TBD Synopsis: Getting to Eden brought Emmett and his crewmates one step closer to their promised fortune. But surviving Eden may … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
4 Comments
Book Tour

Willa of the Wood Author: Robert Beatty Pub. Date: July 10, 2018 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages: 384 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Audible, B&N, iBooks, TBD Synopsis: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Robert Beatty comes a spooky, thrilling new series set in the magical world of Serafina.  … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment
Book Tour

Like Never and Always Author: Ann Aguirre Pub. Date: July 17, 2018 Publisher: Tor Teen Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Pages: 336 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, iBooks, TBD Synopsis: On a hot summer night, a screech of brakes and shattering glass changes two lives forever. Liv wakes in the hospital, … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
4 Comments
Book Tour

The Accidental Bad Girl Author: Maxine Kaplan Publication Date: May 15th, 2018 Publisher: Abrams Synopsis: After getting caught hooking up with her best friend’s ex on the last day of junior year, Kendall starts senior year friendless and ostracized. She … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
2 Comments

Author: Jennifer Alsever Narrator: Moira Todd Series: Trinity Forest Series, Book 1 Publisher: Sawatch Publishing Released: Sep. 7, 2017 Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Author Jennifer Alsever delivers an addictive story ideal for fans of The Uglies, We Were Liars, and … Continue reading

Tagged as
1 Comment
Book Title:
Hooked
Book Author:
Catherine Greenman
Page Count:
288
Publishing Date:
May 8th, 2011
Publisher:
Ember
Date Read:
June 27th, 2018
Source:
Purchased

Synopsis

Thea Galehouse has always known how to take care of herself. With a flighty club-owner mom and a standoffish, recovering-alcoholic dad, Thea has made her own way in her hometown of New York, attending the prestigious and competitive Stuyvesant High School. But one chat with Will, a handsome and witty senior, and she's a goner—completely hooked on him and unable to concentrate on anything else.

Always worried that she loves Will more than he loves her, Thea is pleasantly surprised when their romance weathers his move to college and Will goes out of his way to involve her in his life. But then, Thea misses a period. And that starts Thea and Will on a wild ride that neither of them could have possibly prepared for. When they decide to keep the baby, their concerned parents chip in what they can to keep Will in school and give both teenagers a comfortable place to raise their child. But when a freak accident leaves Thea shaken and threatens to upend their little family altogether, Thea is forced to turn to the last place she would have chosen for comfort: her stiff, uncompromising father.

This smart, touching first novel brims with realistic, beautifully drawn characters, and reminds us that love is never as easy or predictable as we might like it to be.

My Review

It took me forever to read this book.  I’m not even kidding – I have been reading this book for 3 months now.  I’m not even sure why – I mean, I’ve read other books in between reading this one, … Continue reading

2.5 stars
4 Comments
Book Tour

Dive Smack Author: Demetra Brodsky Publication Date: June 19th, 2018 Publisher: Tor Teen Synopsis: Theo Mackey only remembers one thing for certain about the fire that destroyed his home: he lit the match. Sure, it was an accident. But the … Continue reading

Tagged as ,
1 Comment