Book Title:
Pretty Fierce
Book Author:
Kieran Scott
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
April 4th, 2017
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
March 22nd, 2017
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

Kaia has been on the run her whole life. The daughter of professional assassins, she knows true danger—and she’ll do anything to survive. After her parents vanished during a job gone bad, Kaia’s spent the last year in hiding, trying to blend in as an ordinary teenager, and there’s no one who makes her feel more normal or more special than her boyfriend, Oliver.

But when she’s jumped by a hit man, and Oliver catches her fighting back, Kaia’s secret is exposed. In a split-second decision, she flees the small town, taking Oliver with her. With professional killers stalking their every move, can Oliver and Kaia protect each other long enough to uncover the mysteries of her past?

My Review

I haven’t read anything by Kieran Scott before now, although I have heard a lot of praise for writing over the years.  I was pretty excited when I started reading Pretty Fierce, because spy thrillers are definitely my thing.  I … Continue reading

3 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Just Another Girl
Book Author:
Elizabeth Eulberg
Page Count:
256
Publishing Date:
March 28th, 2017
Publisher:
Scholastic
Date Read:
March 24th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

You resent her. You can't stand her. You might even hate her.

But you don't know her at all.

Hope knows there's only one thing coming between her and her longtime crush: his girlfriend, Parker. She has to sit on the sidelines and watch as the perfect girl gets the perfect boy . . . because that's how the universe works, even though it's so completely wrong.

Parker doesn't feel perfect. She knows if everyone knew the truth about her, they'd never be able to get past it. So she keeps quiet. She focuses on making it through the day with her secret safe . . . even as this becomes harder and harder to do. And Hope isn't making it any easier. . . .

In Just Another Girl, Elizabeth Eulberg astutely and affectingly shows us how battle lines get drawn between girls -- and how difficult it then becomes to see or understand the girl standing on the other side of the divide.

You think you have an enemy. But she's just another girl.

My Review

This book had so many promising points that it completely fulfilled – a feud between two girls for the same boy, learning to understand others who may be dealing with more than you could ever know, and Rube Goldberg machines. … Continue reading

4.5 stars
2 Comments
Book Title:
Hear the Wolves
Book Author:
Victoria Scott
Page Count:
240
Publishing Date:
March 28th, 2017
Publisher:
Scholastic Press
Date Read:
April 2nd, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

Sloan is a hunter.

So she shouldn’t be afraid of anything. But ever since her mom left the family and she lost hearing in one ear in a blizzard, it’s been hard to talk to people, and near-impossible to go anywhere or do anything without her dad or big sister within eyesight — it makes her too scared to be on her own.

When they leave her home alone for what should only be two nights, she’s already panicked. Then the snow starts falling and doesn’t stop. One of her neighbors is hurt in an accident. And the few people still left in Rusic need to make it to the river and the boat that’s tied there — their only way to get to a doctor from their isolated Alaska town.

But the woods are icy cold, and the wolves are hungry. Sloan and her group are running out of food, out of energy, and out of time. That’s when the wolves start hunting them . . .

My Review

The first time I heard about this book and saw that stunning cover, I fell in love.  It seemed like such a great story, full of adventure, friendship, and, of course, wolves.  A survival story for middle grade readers?  Yes!  … Continue reading

4 stars
Leave a comment
Book Tour

Other Breakable Things Authors: Kelley York and Rowan Altwood Publication Date: April 4th, 2017 Publisher: Entangled Teen Synopsis: According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing. Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will … Continue reading

6 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Someone Like You
Book Author:
Sarah Dessen
Page Count:
304
Publishing Date:
June 1st, 2012 (Reprint)
Publisher:
Speak
Date Read:
April 17th, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

The world is a terrible place not to have a best friend.

Scarlett was always the strong one.

Halley was always content to follow in her wake.

Then Scarlett’s boyfriend died, and Scarlett learned that she was pregnant.

Now Halley has to find the strength to take the lead and help Scarlett get through it.

Because true friendship is a promise you keep forever.

My Review

Okay, so this is the first book by Sarah Dessen that I’ve read, despite the fact that I’ve been reading young adult books for like 15 years now and the sheer amount of books that I’ve torn through in that … Continue reading

12 Comments

Goodbye Days Author: Jeff Zentner Publication Date: March 7th, 2017 Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers Source: Blogging for Books program Synopsis: What if you could spend one last day with someone you lost? One day Carver Briggs had it … Continue reading

1 Comment
Book Title:
Fireworks
Book Author:
Katie Cotugno
Page Count:
336
Publishing Date:
April 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Date Read:
April 18th, 2017
Source:
eARC from publisher via Edelweiss - Thank you!

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How to Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel—all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

My Review

While I own copies of both How to Love and 99 Days, I haven’t read either of them yet.  When I saw the cover for Fireworks, however, I thought it was one of the prettiest book covers that I’ve seen … Continue reading

3.5 stars
8 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Unearthly Things
Book Author:
Michelle Gagnon
Page Count:
288
Publishing Date:
April 11th, 2017
Publisher:
Soho Teen
Date Read:
April 15th, 2017
Source:
ARC from publisher - Thank you!

Synopsis

Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre retold against the backdrop of San Francisco's most fabulous—and dangerous—elites.

After losing her parents in a tragic accident, surfer girl Janie Mason trades the sunny beaches of Hawaii for the cold fog of San Francisco and new guardians—the Rochesters—she’s never even met. Janie feels hopelessly out of place in their world of Napa weekends, fancy cotillions, and chauffeurs. The only person she can relate to is Daniel, a fellow surfer. Meeting him makes Janie feel like things might be looking up.

Still, something isn’t right in the Rochester mansion. There are noises—screams—coming from the attic that everyone else claims they can’t hear. Then John, the black sheep of the family, returns after getting kicked out of yet another boarding school. Soon Janie finds herself torn between devil-may-care John and fiercely loyal Daniel. Just when she thinks her life can’t get any more complicated, she learns the truth about why the Rochesters took her in. They want something from Janie, and she’s about to see just how far they’ll go to get it.

My Review

Unearthly Things is a real treat for those looking for YA horror that isn’t too terrifying, yet relies a lot on thrilling concepts to tell an amazing story.  For those who aren’t too into horror, but every now and again … Continue reading

4 stars
8 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
Girl Out of Water
Book Author:
Laura Silverman
Page Count:
320
Publishing Date:
May 2nd, 2017
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Date Read:
April 12th, 2017
Source:
eARC from publisher via NetGalley - Thank you!

Synopsis

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

My Review

If you are looking for a fun summer contemporary that will have you racing for the beach and the warm sand, Girl out of Water is probably one of the best reads that will definitely perk up your summer days! … Continue reading

10 Comments
Book Tour
Book Title:
The Giant Jumperee
Book Author:
Julia Donaldson
Book Illustrator:
Helen Oxenbury
Page Count:
32
Publishing Date:
April 18th, 2017
Publisher:
Dial Books
Date Read:
April 1st, 2017
Source:
I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Synopsis

Two of the world's most celebrated picture book creators, Julia Donaldson and Helen Oxenbury, team up for the first time in this jaunty animal fable for fans of Room on the Broom and We're Going on a Bear Hunt.

Rabbit arrives home one day to hear a loud voice coming from inside his burrow:

"I'm the Giant Jumperee and I'm scary as can be!" shouts the stranger.

Rabbit's friends Cat, Bear, and Elephant come to help, but they're no match for the mysterious, booming voice. But who is the Giant Jumperee? Find out in this new read-aloud classic from internationally bestselling author Julia Donaldson, beautifully brought to life by award-winning illustrator Helen Oxenbury.

My Review

As far as sweet, adorable picture books go, I have to say that I think The Giant Jumperee is one of the best that I’ve come across!  Not only was it a fun book to read, with an engaging story … Continue reading

5 stars
Leave a comment